Ellis Island Casino & Brewery

Hot
 
3.6 (55)
26462   0   3   0   0   0

User reviews

55 reviews

 
(4)
 
(34)
 
(13)
 
(3)
 
(1)
Overall rating 
 
3.6
 
3.7  (55)
 
3.4  (49)
 
3.9  (55)
 
3.9  (55)
 
3.4  (55)
 
2.7  (50)
 
4.2  (55)
Back to Listing
Ratings (the higher the better)
Slots
Table Games
Customer Service
Player's Club
Gaming Atmosphere
Amenities or Hotel
Food & Drink
Comments
49 results - showing 1 - 30  
1 2  
Ordering 
 
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Slots 
 
4.0
Table Games 
 
5.0
Customer Service 
 
4.0
Player's Club 
 
5.0
Gaming Atmosphere 
 
4.0
Amenities or Hotel 
 
5.0
Food & Drink 
 
3.0

El Cortez Cabana room, poker, and antique slots

Folks may not know it, but you can use the coupon in the American Casino Guide for a Cabana room at the El Cortez. The smallest size is just $51 with the coupon for two weekday nights. The larger ones are a few dollars more. Solo the smallest is fine with me. I find the advantage of these rooms over the Pavillion or Vintage is worth the price. They are much quieter. Vintage is almost on the casino floor and has thin walls so any television can be heard through the walls. Pavillion has a wrap around terrace outside the room and the sound of the cleaning carts is like a small train running by. The Cabana is joyously colorful and everything is a bit upscale plush. There is better room for a computer and there is a refrigerator in the counter space. The television stations include quite a few with just music. I prefer these over the others and feel they are worth another few dollars a night.
Another overlooked pleasure is to play poker with Jackie Gaughan, a living Vegas legend. He is pretty old and a bit senile, but you can find him at the inexpensive poker games every afternoon. He plays very lose and so he adds to the pots when he plays.
Also, right near the elevator going to the parking garage are three coin droppers that are some of the oldest working slots in Vegas. They really are slot machines because the display has to do with pins that drop into slots rather than a random number generator. They do have electricity to do the spinning, but not to determine the outcome. Playing them is a treat.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: July 09, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
4.4
Slots 
 
5.0
Table Games 
 
5.0
Customer Service 
 
5.0
Player's Club 
 
5.0
Gaming Atmosphere 
 
3.0
Amenities or Hotel 
 
3.0
Food & Drink 
 
5.0

A MUST VISIT PLACE

Do not forget to use your coupons and also get a special offer on the steak or bar-b-que prices with a player's club voucher. The micro brews and great karaoke lounge are worth a visit on their own.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: April 23, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
4.4
Slots 
 
5.0
Table Games 
 
5.0
Customer Service 
 
5.0
Player's Club 
 
5.0
Gaming Atmosphere 
 
3.0
Amenities or Hotel 
 
3.0
Food & Drink 
 
5.0

One of the Best!

This must visit casino has it all, great ribs,the cafe and its steak special,
lounge with live singing, Metro pizza and subs.
The staff is friendly and very capable wherever you interact with them

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: January 22, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Slots 
 
4.0
Table Games 
 
5.0
Customer Service 
 
4.0
Player's Club 
 
5.0
Gaming Atmosphere 
 
4.0
Amenities or Hotel 
 
3.0
Food & Drink 
 
5.0

Come and enjoy Ellis Island

Ellis Island is a small local casino attached to a Super 8 near to the Strip.
They have moved the Bar-B-Que to a new indoor only location. Do not worry the food is just as fantastic! Just think, they enjoy huge success with ONLY TWO ITEMS on the menu...chicken and ribs. Come and see why a meal for around $10 can be world famous.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: January 05, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
3.6
Slots 
 
3.0
Table Games 
 
5.0
Customer Service 
 
4.0
Player's Club 
 
4.0
Gaming Atmosphere 
 
3.0
Amenities or Hotel 
 
2.0
Food & Drink 
 
4.0

Ellis is still the island

My November excursion was short and not sweet as I could not find full pay 25 Jacks or Better. I think I played on a 9/5. Had one of their great micro brews, but the cost was a $40 dollar loss and a buck tip. Great beer but $41 bucks?!, lol. You win some you lose some, I have has some good winning sessions there. Great beer, BBQ, and Steak special. $7.95 still a great price with the
brew.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Slots 
 
3.0
Table Games 
 
4.0
Customer Service 
 
5.0
Player's Club 
 
4.0
Gaming Atmosphere 
 
5.0
Amenities or Hotel 
 
N/A
Food & Drink 
 
5.0

Locals Casino Flavor Close To The Strip

Just down Flamingo from the Strip Right on Koval and it's about a hundred yards down on the left, between Harmon and Flamingo. You can also go up Harmon from the Hard Rock and turn right.
Cement floors and the smell of dingy cigarettes permeate the air, and a whiff of searing steak from the 24 hour restaurant that serves the best cheap steak deal in town. The beer is brewed on site by a real German imported brew master, and a pint can be had for around a buck and a half, That's about 20 oz not 12, plus tip. Or, park your rear end at the bar and with a $20 buy in the drinks are comped. Video Poker is 8/5 Jacks or Better and the other games are about the same payoff, a sprinkling of good Video Poker throughout the casino with the usual slots and table games, decent rules and low minimums keep me coming back, as well as the daily restaurant specials, priced low enough to keep you fed while you gamble away those hard earned dollars. Many times I've made that late night trip to satisfy those munchies with a graveyard special. Yes, they still have those.
Then it's back to the Wheel Of Misfortune with my gambleholic wife (only when she's buzzed in Las Vegas at 3 AM) and it's one more time, just one more, just one more.........
See ya there!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Slots 
 
4.0
Table Games 
 
4.0
Customer Service 
 
5.0
Player's Club 
 
4.0
Gaming Atmosphere 
 
3.0
Amenities or Hotel 
 
N/A
Food & Drink 
 
5.0

An unexpected all around best!

Best surprise in Las Vegas! Bring your friends here for a really fun time.
Best Bar B Que deal!
Best steak deal!
Best fun bar --Just sing a long!

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: April 26, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Slots 
 
3.0
Table Games 
 
4.0
Customer Service 
 
4.0
Player's Club 
 
4.0
Gaming Atmosphere 
 
4.0
Amenities or Hotel 
 
3.0
Food & Drink 
 
4.0

Great place to get off the strip

This is great place to try if you are ready to try an off strip property that's within walking distance. There is no glitz or glamor here. What they do have is solid and afforable dining options, low table limits, and great beers. The much talked about off menu steak dinner is a great bargain play. And of course, the American Casino Guide coupon makes this place worth the walk.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: April 11, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Slots 
 
4.0
Table Games 
 
4.0
Customer Service 
 
4.0
Player's Club 
 
4.0
Gaming Atmosphere 
 
4.0
Amenities or Hotel 
 
3.0
Food & Drink 
 
4.0

Ellis = Good deal

Small and dark, but good casino. Some full pay video poker if you look for them. If you're a beer drinker you will love this place with its micro brews. They always have some kind of player promos going plus the A.C.G. coupons. Ellis is a city block off-strip behind Bally's but still close enough to walk, I always seem to get there every trip.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Slots 
 
4.0
Table Games 
 
4.0
Customer Service 
 
5.0
Player's Club 
 
5.0
Gaming Atmosphere 
 
4.0
Amenities or Hotel 
 
N/A
Food & Drink 
 
5.0

Best micro brew and ribs

Bring your friends for a real fun evening. Great Micro brews and the best ribs in town. Great streaks in the Cafe, as well

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: January 10, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Slots 
 
4.0
Table Games 
 
4.0
Customer Service 
 
4.0
Player's Club 
 
4.0
Gaming Atmosphere 
 
4.0
Amenities or Hotel 
 
3.0
Food & Drink 
 
4.0

always a favorite

I actually went to this casino 3 times during my december trip, 2x for steak and eggs, 1x for vp and beer. The vp is good, in fact I think I had a pro next to me on a sunday night as he was not friendly. we did have poor drink service that night and they have reduced the size of the glasses for their delicious micro brewed beer, I always get the amber but my sons and sister and brother have all enjoyed their other selections. My steak and egg specials were good also. I had stayed and the super 8 next door before and the rooms are small but decent with an interesting amenities available.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: September 08, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Slots 
 
4.0
Table Games 
 
4.0
Customer Service 
 
4.0
Player's Club 
 
4.0
Gaming Atmosphere 
 
4.0
Amenities or Hotel 
 
3.0
Food & Drink 
 
4.0

Had a good time in the Ellis

enjoyed the micro brews while playing their JOB. Great Beer! Pretty good Cocktail service. Good
BBQ, a value steak dinner, and other meals. They have special Mexican and Italian nights. A fun
place.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: April 17, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Slots 
 
4.0
Table Games 
 
4.0
Customer Service 
 
4.0
Player's Club 
 
5.0
Gaming Atmosphere 
 
4.0
Amenities or Hotel 
 
3.0
Food & Drink 
 
5.0

Another great bargain !

Small casino but well worth signing up for players card, use ACG coupons. Good BBQ outdoor restaraunt, famous steak special in the restaraunt inside, onsite brewery (try the rootbeer!)Crap table open in the evenings. Haven't stayed at the hotel so no comment.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: April 15, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Slots 
 
4.0
Table Games 
 
4.0
Customer Service 
 
4.0
Player's Club 
 
5.0
Gaming Atmosphere 
 
4.0
Amenities or Hotel 
 
3.0
Food & Drink 
 
5.0

Steak, Eggs, & Video Poker..OH MY!

Vegas No Frills Review

Ellis Island is loved by many on these very message boards. It’s a great place for breakfast, lunch or dinner. The steak special comes with a beer (it’s not on the menu, you have to ask for it) and the steak & eggs special for breakfast is also very good. There is a coupon for 4 free cocktails in the ACG 2012 edition, and there’s full-pay video poker and cheap table games. What a great way to get loaded and gamble! Seriously though, this place is a must stop and a nice break from the mega resorts on the strip. It’s an easy walk, or a quick $5 cab ride from mid-strip.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: March 28, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Slots 
 
5.0
Table Games 
 
4.0
Customer Service 
 
4.0
Player's Club 
 
5.0
Gaming Atmosphere 
 
5.0
Amenities or Hotel 
 
5.0
Food & Drink 
 
5.0

Diamond in the Rough

We had done a lot of research prior to our trip and kept hearing great things about Ellis Island. We took the short walk to Ellis Island the evening of March 21st. The first thing you smell is the incredible aroma of the BBQ. It literally makes you drool. We sat down at the video poker machines near the Karaoke lounge and enjoyed some decent paying machines and some entertaining singers. If you haven't indulged in the Ellis Island Karaoke, it is a must. We went to the cafe the following day for lunch. I had the off menu steak special that was pretty good and my wife had a buffalo chicken wrap that she really enjoyed. We planned on going back for the BBQ dinner, but ran out of time and had to get to the airport. We are already planning our next trip and we will be visiting Ellis Island again.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: February 24, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Slots 
 
4.0
Table Games 
 
4.0
Customer Service 
 
4.0
Player's Club 
 
4.0
Gaming Atmosphere 
 
5.0
Amenities or Hotel 
 
2.0
Food & Drink 
 
4.0

Straight Forward Review

Straight Forward Review based on my 2 week trip last month:

Property-
Ellis Island Casino & Brewery near Las Vegas Strip

Pros-
Full Pay Jacks or Better Video Poker at quarter level
Friendly Staff
Great Steak Dinner Special
Great Steak & Eggs Special
Freeplay when joining slot club
Tasty microbrews
Strong drinks

Cons-
Smoky
Older Casino

Must Sees-
None, this is a no frills fun place

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: February 09, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Slots 
 
5.0
Table Games 
 
4.0
Customer Service 
 
5.0
Player's Club 
 
5.0
Gaming Atmosphere 
 
5.0
Amenities or Hotel 
 
3.0
Food & Drink 
 
5.0

Best Island Around

Ellis Island is probably my favorite locals casino to visit. To start with the food is always great, I make it a point to get BBQ at least once during my vacation and everytime I do I remember why, mmmm..... While the tables are limited, if you want to have an enjoyable slot/video poker time you have to stop in. We never leave without someone in our group hitting something on a machine. Don't forget about their own house brews, if you like microbrews you have to try a couple of their beers. If you like to sing, you have to check out the keroke bar, it's always packed too!!

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: January 13, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Slots 
 
5.0
Table Games 
 
4.0
Customer Service 
 
4.0
Player's Club 
 
4.0
Gaming Atmosphere 
 
3.0
Amenities or Hotel 
 
3.0
Food & Drink 
 
5.0

Great Little Place

We went to Ellis Island because we were intrigued by the 4 free drink coupon in ACG, we keep going back because we always have a good time. We love "locals" casinos and Ellis Island may be small, but I always win. My husband loves the bar and the microbrews. The food is great, it pays to be an insider and know about the steak dinner special. People that love the strip probably will not like it, but we will continue to go back every trip.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: October 09, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Slots 
 
4.0
Table Games 
 
4.0
Customer Service 
 
5.0
Player's Club 
 
5.0
Gaming Atmosphere 
 
4.0
Amenities or Hotel 
 
1.0
Food & Drink 
 
4.0

Ellis Island Update 9/2011

The Beer 20OZ (not 12) micro brewed beer is now $2.00 at the bar. The Steak Special is now $7.99 and includes a pint of beer or root beer. The daily specials are good and reasonably priced.

The .05 cent VP machines are back, 9/6 Jacks Or Better and decent pay tables on several other machines like DDB and Bonus Poker Varieties, as well as quarters. Looks like they're trying to draw the locals crowd back in.

Mostly $5 minimums on three or four Black Jack tables, One Craps Table with Double Odds and occasionally one Roulette table on weekends when it's really busy. ($5)

The American Casino Guide coupons are welcome there (out of state ID required) so get your ACG coupon book, it pays for itself just in the Ellis Island coupons alone!

Located just down on Koval near Flamingo attached to the Super 8 (not affiliated) Motel.

Koval is the street that runs behind all the strip casinos, MGM, Flamingo, Imperial Palace, Harrah's ETC.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: August 27, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
4.4
Slots 
 
4.0
Table Games 
 
4.0
Customer Service 
 
5.0
Player's Club 
 
4.0
Gaming Atmosphere 
 
4.0
Amenities or Hotel 
 
5.0
Food & Drink 
 
5.0

Great gambling and great food - Super 8 next door

This little local’s casino seems misplaced. Most places with the kind of good gambling and decent deals offered here are so far off the strip that we need a car or bus to get to them. We can walk to Ellis Island.
It is not a fancy place, but it gives good value.
The bargain gambling starts with free bingo every weekday morning at 9am. Players must bring their own bingo markers or buy one there. No sharing. Cash prizes are small, but it is free. Often my gambling buddy Wild Bill and I have a side bet on the bingo to see who buys breakfast.
The food at Ellis Island is classic diner food and well prepared. 24/7 there is a legendary off-the -menu special steak dinner that comes with salad and a pile of garlic buttered green beans as well as potato and either a large microbrew or a homemade root beer. All for under $8. The beef is not one of those thin, rather tough bits on most diner specials. It is thick, cooked to order, tender and juicy with enough thickness to make medium rare mean something.
In the evening the barbecue is open with other taste specials. It gets good ratings. In some weather, diners can eat outside.
The American Casino Guide can be paid for with just the value of the coupons for Ellis Island. There is one that acts as a $10 slots matchplay, one that gives four free drinks, and a 2 for 1 menu item (not for the unadvertised steak special) for the cafe. I recommend the prime rib. And solo diners can get 50% off a menu item.
Microbrews are good and inexpensive. I best like a seasonal Octoberfest brew the best but any ale will do.
On some days there are specials on some meals or perhaps specials for seniors.
Gambling includes 9/6 JOB in quarters and Ellis is the closest place to the strip to find this pay table in quarters.
Evenings Karaoke happens in the main bar.

There is no live poker and rarely is there a craps game. Blackjack and 21 tables are usually open. Since this casino serves locals, it is hard to imagine that its slots are as tight as those just down the street on the strip. That is always a tough thing to calculate, but my bet is the slots pay off much better here.
Next to Ellis is a Super 8 which has the distinction of offering the most amenities of any strip area hotel, but offering them free without resort fees. These include a free shuttle to and from the airport, free wifi, a coin laundromat (wifi there as well), free coffee maker in the room and a free coffee machine in the lobby with specialty tastes, HBO and TCM on television, free small but heated pool open 24 hours, and Wyndham Rewards credits if you book directly. There are some rooms that allow pets as well.
I have stayed in the small rooms there and been very comfortable. I liked having the Ellis Island food so close by.
The desk clerks take good care of customers. I overheard them extend the stay of a large German group at the same rate they had booked when the group had some plane difficulties, When I mixed up my reservations once, they took care to see I had enough nights. Often I see airline pilots and stewardesses staying there. Whenever I have to really pay full price for a room, I pick this spot. Weekend prices do not go up as much as they do in casino hotels so a week there might be less than a week at Gold Coast, for example. However, when booking online, you do have to watch the cancellation rules. On some of their rate structures there is no refund whatsoever once you have booked. For some odd reason, another and sometimes cheaper rate schedule will give the standard liberal cancellation times. Just read carefully before you book. Call too. I often find they can give me just as good a price over the phone for AARP rates.
It is a ten minute walk to the strip. However, there is a bus across Flamingo that will take you there or to the Gold Coast, Rio and Palms and coming back by bus is easy as well. There is also a bus directly in front of the Super 8 that will take you to the Fashion Show Mall. Check these schedules after September 2011 as some may change.
I once hosted a meet of some discussion board friends at Ellis and about six of us met with our coupons for drinks and talk. The more upscale, enclosed bar does not take all coupons, but they let us carry our coupon drinks in to sit at a quiet table there for a fine meetup. In the evening this would be hard, but in the afternoon on a weekday it was no trouble.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: August 15, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Slots 
 
4.0
Table Games 
 
4.0
Customer Service 
 
5.0
Player's Club 
 
4.0
Gaming Atmosphere 
 
3.0
Amenities or Hotel 
 
3.0
Food & Drink 
 
4.0

Love the Ellis

The special steak dinner has been $7.99 for about a year. They usually have a $4.95 steak and eggs special. Micro brewed beer is great! They have reduced their 9/6 .25 JOB .25. A great value for food and drink, and the gambling is reasonable. Enjoy a slice of pizza while you play from Metro Pizza located in the casino. BBQ is very good, used to be an incredible value, now just a good one. Food prices at the supermarket has gone up, so we should expect to may more for the specials. I try to visit this place every trip.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Slots 
 
4.0
Table Games 
 
4.0
Customer Service 
 
5.0
Player's Club 
 
4.0
Gaming Atmosphere 
 
4.0
Amenities or Hotel 
 
1.0
Food & Drink 
 
4.0

ELLIS ISLAND things are changing

For those of us that know about Ellis Island, we like it. It has great Micro Brewed Craft Beer, low priced restaurant specials, and some say the best Bar B Q in Las Vegas.

The Steak Special has been on the Las Vegas Advisor top ten list for as long as I can remember, although the price has gone up steadily on a gradual basis. After all, with the current state of the economy why not raise your prices. The saving grace is now you get a beer or root beer with the steak special, like it or not.

The table games are usually $5 minimums, 3 or 4 Black Jack tables, a full sized Craps table has been added, and one lone Roulette wheel that's open sporadically depending on how busy the casino is. Blackjack still pays 3 to 2 as far as I know, but knowing the current trend I wouldn't be surprised if that also goes the way of the carrier pigeon.

The price of a pint of beer recently went up to $1.75, and the well and call drinks are still lower than the strip, but what would one expect from a casino that's adjacent to a Super 8 Motel? The steak special is still $6.99 as far as I know, but the Prime Rib has gone up to over $10. You can find a menu on their web site, Ellis Island Casino.

The slots are of the usual variety, and there are a few good Video Poker machines scattered about if you know where to find them. See VPfree2 web site. It's always a good idea to learn Video Poker strategy and pay schedules before attempting to play Video Poker, it's not like table poker or Texas Hold Em. It's really one of the best forms of casino gambling available.

Take a look at the American Casino Guide book, (this web site) an outstanding value and it has some great coupons for Ellis Island, out of state residents only. The deals were so good the locals bought numerous books and used the coupons so much the casino adopted a policy of out of state users only. That's how good they are!

Armed with the American Casino Guide and coupon book Ellis Island is a must stop for any out of state visitor.

OK, where is this place? It's only a block away from the Strip. From the Strip (Las Vegas Blvd), You take Flamingo east (away from the freeway) down two lights to Koval Ave, go right and it's about a hundred yards down on the left, just look for the Yellow Super 8 Motel sign.
If your coming from the airport it's on Koval past Harmon on the right. So you just tell the cab driver to take Koval, not the strip unless you want an hour long cab ride.

OK, it's not the Bellagio. It's geared for the Low to Moderate roller type, or value conscious consumer. But if you can appreciate a good deal and don't mind a blue collar crowd this place might be for you.

Oh yeah, they also have Karaoke in the bar most nights with some of the worst singers you ever heard. Hey what the heck, your from out of town so nobody will ever see you again, go ahead and embarrass yourself!

I'd say you better take advantage of this place before it goes away. The planning commission is talking about building a stadium nearby and will exercise it's right of eminent domain, but that won't be until the economy picks up some, at least a few years. Enjoy it while it lasts!

Ben Jammin



Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Slots 
 
3.0
Table Games 
 
4.0
Customer Service 
 
5.0
Player's Club 
 
5.0
Gaming Atmosphere 
 
4.0
Amenities or Hotel 
 
3.0
Food & Drink 
 
5.0

best food deal around

simply said steak deal is best value in any casino we went to.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Slots 
 
4.0
Table Games 
 
4.0
Customer Service 
 
4.0
Player's Club 
 
4.0
Gaming Atmosphere 
 
4.0
Amenities or Hotel 
 
4.0
Food & Drink 
 
4.0

Quality microbrew and food

Ellis Island has some of the best microbrew in Las Vegas. They also have good food at a reasonable price.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Slots 
 
4.0
Table Games 
 
4.0
Customer Service 
 
4.0
Player's Club 
 
4.0
Gaming Atmosphere 
 
4.0
Amenities or Hotel 
 
4.0
Food & Drink 
 
4.0

Breakfast

Beside's the $4.95 Steak Dinner, they have a $3.49 Steak and Eggs breakfast, which is great.



I will hit Ellis Island for breakfast 2 to 3 times on a 5 day trip to Las Vegas .



It is a great way to start the day.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Slots 
 
4.0
Table Games 
 
4.0
Customer Service 
 
4.0
Player's Club 
 
4.0
Gaming Atmosphere 
 
4.0
Amenities or Hotel 
 
4.0
Food & Drink 
 
4.0

ellis island

This is a tiny little casino off the strip, with mini-tables and limited slots, but the ambience is cheerful, the people are friendly, and I win more than I lose.



Just an aside, their $4.99 steak dinner is the best. It includes salad, rolls, steak, veggie and baked potato. We've never been disappointed here.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: April 30, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Slots 
 
3.0
Table Games 
 
3.0
Customer Service 
 
5.0
Player's Club 
 
5.0
Gaming Atmosphere 
 
3.0
Amenities or Hotel 
 
3.0
Food & Drink 
 
5.0

Ellis Island Casino

We dropped by the Ellis Island Casino during our most recent trip to Las Vegas to use the 2 for 1 food coupon in the restaurant and the play $10 get $10 free play coupon which are in the ACG. They were running a promotion in which you pick 6 numbers like Keno at the players kiosk and can win prizes for getting at least 3 right. I got 3 right and won a free pizza or sub sandwich. I took the sub sandwich.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: February 22, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
3.6
Slots 
 
3.0
Table Games 
 
3.0
Customer Service 
 
4.0
Player's Club 
 
5.0
Gaming Atmosphere 
 
4.0
Amenities or Hotel 
 
2.0
Food & Drink 
 
4.0

Great BBQ,Brew and Gambling

This little casino has a good mix of locals and tourists, Walking distance from the strip, located behind Bally's. Nice little bar serves a number of different beers from their onsite brewery, great rootbeer too! Good BBQ restaraunt with outdoor seating, or eat your BBQ n the indoor restaraunt. Try the Steak special, ask for it, it's not on the menu. Great slot club, use the ACG coupon.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: December 07, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
3.2
Slots 
 
3.0
Table Games 
 
3.0
Customer Service 
 
4.0
Player's Club 
 
3.0
Gaming Atmosphere 
 
2.0
Amenities or Hotel 
 
3.0
Food & Drink 
 
4.0

Local Joint, Not For Everyone

You know, Ellis Island is one of those places you'll either love or hate. It's definitely a place for locals and you'll see that when you walk through the door. One of Ellis Island's claims to fame is their $6.95 (or maybe it was $7.95) strip steak special. They have had it for years and it's available any time. It comes with a decent steak, vegetable, potato, salad, roll. The basic Vegas steak dinner special. This place has table games and slots and they're ok...but expect some smoke, it can be smokey. We also noticed the last time we had their steak dinner that a karaoke bar was next to the restaurant and we had to listen to liquored-up locals spew Neil Diamond and Barbara Streisand numbers the entire night. But we were able to live with it, we actually thought it was sort of funny, it just got on our nerves a bit later in the night.

If you don't mind the "local flavor" and some smoke and you like those Vegas meal deals, this is a place for you. If not, you might want to skip this place.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: November 29, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
3.4
Slots 
 
3.0
Table Games 
 
3.0
Customer Service 
 
4.0
Player's Club 
 
3.0
Gaming Atmosphere 
 
5.0
Amenities or Hotel 
 
1.0
Food & Drink 
 
5.0

Like a lot of the Girls in Vegas - Fast, Cheap and

Ellis Island is like one of those "holes in wall" type places that we all like to love...

Last trip here I went in with my free drink coupons in tow and an empty belly... I learned from the first trip. About a 10 minute walk from Bally's, this place should be on everyone's list.

The BBQ Ribs are unreal. By looking at this place and after walking through it, most would be scared to eat here. The steak dinner is probably one of the best bangs for your buck here.

Gambling is cheap, with a gaming atmosphere I love. Low roof, lots of noise from patrons and machines, lots of smoke... It feels like it should be dangerous, but everyone here is having a blast, especially when karaoke gets going and somebody decides to sing Sweet Caroline by Neil Diamond.

It's such an easy walk to get to, and a great change from the Strip. There are a ton of locals in this place too. They can't be wrong if they go there.

CM

Was this review helpful to you? 
49 results - showing 1 - 30  
1 2  
 
Powered by JReviews

Latest Forum Posts

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Youtube
  • Pinterest
  • Instagram
Copyright © 2018 American Casino Guide. All Rights Reserved.
Joomla! is Free Software released under the GNU General Public License.