Ellis Island Casino & Brewery

Hot
 
3.6 (55)
26462   0   3   0   0   0

User reviews

55 reviews

 
(4)
 
(34)
 
(13)
 
(3)
 
(1)
Overall rating 
 
3.6
 
3.7  (55)
 
3.4  (49)
 
3.9  (55)
 
3.9  (55)
 
3.4  (55)
 
2.7  (50)
 
4.2  (55)
Back to Listing
Ratings (the higher the better)
Slots
Table Games
Customer Service
Player's Club
Gaming Atmosphere
Amenities or Hotel
Food & Drink
Comments
55 results - showing 1 - 30  
1 2  
Ordering 
 
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Slots 
 
4.0
Table Games 
 
N/A
Customer Service 
 
5.0
Player's Club 
 
5.0
Gaming Atmosphere 
 
3.0
Amenities or Hotel 
 
N/A
Food & Drink 
 
4.0

Ellis Island

This is a small fun casino. Great drinks, slots food!!!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Slots 
 
4.0
Table Games 
 
5.0
Customer Service 
 
4.0
Player's Club 
 
5.0
Gaming Atmosphere 
 
4.0
Amenities or Hotel 
 
5.0
Food & Drink 
 
3.0

El Cortez Cabana room, poker, and antique slots

Folks may not know it, but you can use the coupon in the American Casino Guide for a Cabana room at the El Cortez. The smallest size is just $51 with the coupon for two weekday nights. The larger ones are a few dollars more. Solo the smallest is fine with me. I find the advantage of these rooms over the Pavillion or Vintage is worth the price. They are much quieter. Vintage is almost on the casino floor and has thin walls so any television can be heard through the walls. Pavillion has a wrap around terrace outside the room and the sound of the cleaning carts is like a small train running by. The Cabana is joyously colorful and everything is a bit upscale plush. There is better room for a computer and there is a refrigerator in the counter space. The television stations include quite a few with just music. I prefer these over the others and feel they are worth another few dollars a night.
Another overlooked pleasure is to play poker with Jackie Gaughan, a living Vegas legend. He is pretty old and a bit senile, but you can find him at the inexpensive poker games every afternoon. He plays very lose and so he adds to the pots when he plays.
Also, right near the elevator going to the parking garage are three coin droppers that are some of the oldest working slots in Vegas. They really are slot machines because the display has to do with pins that drop into slots rather than a random number generator. They do have electricity to do the spinning, but not to determine the outcome. Playing them is a treat.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: July 09, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
4.4
Slots 
 
5.0
Table Games 
 
5.0
Customer Service 
 
5.0
Player's Club 
 
5.0
Gaming Atmosphere 
 
3.0
Amenities or Hotel 
 
3.0
Food & Drink 
 
5.0

A MUST VISIT PLACE

Do not forget to use your coupons and also get a special offer on the steak or bar-b-que prices with a player's club voucher. The micro brews and great karaoke lounge are worth a visit on their own.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: April 23, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
4.4
Slots 
 
5.0
Table Games 
 
5.0
Customer Service 
 
5.0
Player's Club 
 
5.0
Gaming Atmosphere 
 
3.0
Amenities or Hotel 
 
3.0
Food & Drink 
 
5.0

One of the Best!

This must visit casino has it all, great ribs,the cafe and its steak special,
lounge with live singing, Metro pizza and subs.
The staff is friendly and very capable wherever you interact with them

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Slots 
 
4.0
Table Games 
 
4.0
Customer Service 
 
5.0
Player's Club 
 
5.0
Gaming Atmosphere 
 
4.0
Amenities or Hotel 
 
N/A
Food & Drink 
 
5.0

Best micro brew and ribs

Bring your friends for a real fun evening. Great Micro brews and the best ribs in town. Great streaks in the Cafe, as well

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: January 22, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Slots 
 
4.0
Table Games 
 
5.0
Customer Service 
 
4.0
Player's Club 
 
5.0
Gaming Atmosphere 
 
4.0
Amenities or Hotel 
 
3.0
Food & Drink 
 
5.0

Come and enjoy Ellis Island

Ellis Island is a small local casino attached to a Super 8 near to the Strip.
They have moved the Bar-B-Que to a new indoor only location. Do not worry the food is just as fantastic! Just think, they enjoy huge success with ONLY TWO ITEMS on the menu...chicken and ribs. Come and see why a meal for around $10 can be world famous.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: April 30, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Slots 
 
3.0
Table Games 
 
3.0
Customer Service 
 
5.0
Player's Club 
 
5.0
Gaming Atmosphere 
 
3.0
Amenities or Hotel 
 
3.0
Food & Drink 
 
5.0

Ellis Island Casino

We dropped by the Ellis Island Casino during our most recent trip to Las Vegas to use the 2 for 1 food coupon in the restaurant and the play $10 get $10 free play coupon which are in the ACG. They were running a promotion in which you pick 6 numbers like Keno at the players kiosk and can win prizes for getting at least 3 right. I got 3 right and won a free pizza or sub sandwich. I took the sub sandwich.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: April 17, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Slots 
 
4.0
Table Games 
 
4.0
Customer Service 
 
4.0
Player's Club 
 
5.0
Gaming Atmosphere 
 
4.0
Amenities or Hotel 
 
3.0
Food & Drink 
 
5.0

Another great bargain !

Small casino but well worth signing up for players card, use ACG coupons. Good BBQ outdoor restaraunt, famous steak special in the restaraunt inside, onsite brewery (try the rootbeer!)Crap table open in the evenings. Haven't stayed at the hotel so no comment.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: April 15, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Slots 
 
4.0
Table Games 
 
4.0
Customer Service 
 
4.0
Player's Club 
 
5.0
Gaming Atmosphere 
 
4.0
Amenities or Hotel 
 
3.0
Food & Drink 
 
5.0

Steak, Eggs, & Video Poker..OH MY!

Vegas No Frills Review

Ellis Island is loved by many on these very message boards. It’s a great place for breakfast, lunch or dinner. The steak special comes with a beer (it’s not on the menu, you have to ask for it) and the steak & eggs special for breakfast is also very good. There is a coupon for 4 free cocktails in the ACG 2012 edition, and there’s full-pay video poker and cheap table games. What a great way to get loaded and gamble! Seriously though, this place is a must stop and a nice break from the mega resorts on the strip. It’s an easy walk, or a quick $5 cab ride from mid-strip.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: March 28, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Slots 
 
5.0
Table Games 
 
4.0
Customer Service 
 
4.0
Player's Club 
 
5.0
Gaming Atmosphere 
 
5.0
Amenities or Hotel 
 
5.0
Food & Drink 
 
5.0

Diamond in the Rough

We had done a lot of research prior to our trip and kept hearing great things about Ellis Island. We took the short walk to Ellis Island the evening of March 21st. The first thing you smell is the incredible aroma of the BBQ. It literally makes you drool. We sat down at the video poker machines near the Karaoke lounge and enjoyed some decent paying machines and some entertaining singers. If you haven't indulged in the Ellis Island Karaoke, it is a must. We went to the cafe the following day for lunch. I had the off menu steak special that was pretty good and my wife had a buffalo chicken wrap that she really enjoyed. We planned on going back for the BBQ dinner, but ran out of time and had to get to the airport. We are already planning our next trip and we will be visiting Ellis Island again.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: February 22, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
3.6
Slots 
 
3.0
Table Games 
 
3.0
Customer Service 
 
4.0
Player's Club 
 
5.0
Gaming Atmosphere 
 
4.0
Amenities or Hotel 
 
2.0
Food & Drink 
 
4.0

Great BBQ,Brew and Gambling

This little casino has a good mix of locals and tourists, Walking distance from the strip, located behind Bally's. Nice little bar serves a number of different beers from their onsite brewery, great rootbeer too! Good BBQ restaraunt with outdoor seating, or eat your BBQ n the indoor restaraunt. Try the Steak special, ask for it, it's not on the menu. Great slot club, use the ACG coupon.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: February 09, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Slots 
 
5.0
Table Games 
 
4.0
Customer Service 
 
5.0
Player's Club 
 
5.0
Gaming Atmosphere 
 
5.0
Amenities or Hotel 
 
3.0
Food & Drink 
 
5.0

Best Island Around

Ellis Island is probably my favorite locals casino to visit. To start with the food is always great, I make it a point to get BBQ at least once during my vacation and everytime I do I remember why, mmmm..... While the tables are limited, if you want to have an enjoyable slot/video poker time you have to stop in. We never leave without someone in our group hitting something on a machine. Don't forget about their own house brews, if you like microbrews you have to try a couple of their beers. If you like to sing, you have to check out the keroke bar, it's always packed too!!

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: October 13, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Slots 
 
5.0
Table Games 
 
3.0
Customer Service 
 
4.0
Player's Club 
 
5.0
Gaming Atmosphere 
 
4.0
Amenities or Hotel 
 
4.0
Food & Drink 
 
5.0

JUST Simply love it. Steaks> VP. Karaoke. Super c

Downtown atmosphere one block from the center of the strip. Ellis is ALWAYS part of my Vegas ritual. When I come in from the East and can't sleep the first night I have breakfast or steak, or both at like 2 AM when the Strip entertainers come in for their meal after their shows. Or later when the cabbies some in. Nickel 9/6 Jacks or Better video poker? oy vey! While listening and singing along to Karaoke? And referral points for the slot club, and free bingo at 9 am and BBQ. or that the ultimate steak now for $7 with a beer. God I died and went to heaven. I have worked my American Casino Guide coupons at this place to the point of hilarity. Always bring a friend and sign them up, then have points for a free steak on my next trip. Bobby V

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: October 09, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Slots 
 
4.0
Table Games 
 
4.0
Customer Service 
 
5.0
Player's Club 
 
5.0
Gaming Atmosphere 
 
4.0
Amenities or Hotel 
 
1.0
Food & Drink 
 
4.0

Ellis Island Update 9/2011

The Beer 20OZ (not 12) micro brewed beer is now $2.00 at the bar. The Steak Special is now $7.99 and includes a pint of beer or root beer. The daily specials are good and reasonably priced.

The .05 cent VP machines are back, 9/6 Jacks Or Better and decent pay tables on several other machines like DDB and Bonus Poker Varieties, as well as quarters. Looks like they're trying to draw the locals crowd back in.

Mostly $5 minimums on three or four Black Jack tables, One Craps Table with Double Odds and occasionally one Roulette table on weekends when it's really busy. ($5)

The American Casino Guide coupons are welcome there (out of state ID required) so get your ACG coupon book, it pays for itself just in the Ellis Island coupons alone!

Located just down on Koval near Flamingo attached to the Super 8 (not affiliated) Motel.

Koval is the street that runs behind all the strip casinos, MGM, Flamingo, Imperial Palace, Harrah's ETC.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Slots 
 
3.0
Table Games 
 
4.0
Customer Service 
 
5.0
Player's Club 
 
5.0
Gaming Atmosphere 
 
4.0
Amenities or Hotel 
 
3.0
Food & Drink 
 
5.0

best food deal around

simply said steak deal is best value in any casino we went to.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Slots 
 
3.0
Table Games 
 
4.0
Customer Service 
 
5.0
Player's Club 
 
4.0
Gaming Atmosphere 
 
5.0
Amenities or Hotel 
 
N/A
Food & Drink 
 
5.0

Locals Casino Flavor Close To The Strip

Just down Flamingo from the Strip Right on Koval and it's about a hundred yards down on the left, between Harmon and Flamingo. You can also go up Harmon from the Hard Rock and turn right.
Cement floors and the smell of dingy cigarettes permeate the air, and a whiff of searing steak from the 24 hour restaurant that serves the best cheap steak deal in town. The beer is brewed on site by a real German imported brew master, and a pint can be had for around a buck and a half, That's about 20 oz not 12, plus tip. Or, park your rear end at the bar and with a $20 buy in the drinks are comped. Video Poker is 8/5 Jacks or Better and the other games are about the same payoff, a sprinkling of good Video Poker throughout the casino with the usual slots and table games, decent rules and low minimums keep me coming back, as well as the daily restaurant specials, priced low enough to keep you fed while you gamble away those hard earned dollars. Many times I've made that late night trip to satisfy those munchies with a graveyard special. Yes, they still have those.
Then it's back to the Wheel Of Misfortune with my gambleholic wife (only when she's buzzed in Las Vegas at 3 AM) and it's one more time, just one more, just one more.........
See ya there!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Slots 
 
4.0
Table Games 
 
N/A
Customer Service 
 
4.0
Player's Club 
 
4.0
Gaming Atmosphere 
 
4.0
Amenities or Hotel 
 
4.0
Food & Drink 
 
4.0

Fun little casino

Love the micro brewed beers here. They were some great food specials also. They have lowered some paytables on their video poker. They also disallow bonus points on their better machines. They have recently bought the super 8 motel adjacent to the casino.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: January 02, 2014)
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Slots 
 
4.0
Table Games 
 
N/A
Customer Service 
 
4.0
Player's Club 
 
4.0
Gaming Atmosphere 
 
3.0
Amenities or Hotel 
 
3.0
Food & Drink 
 
4.0

Nice locals casino

Very good micro brews, glass size reduced. CW service spotty. VP has some good paytables, but less machines than in the past. no hotel comps because its a Super 8.
Food is varied-BBQ, Cafe, Pizza, and Sandwich shop. Low table stakes

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Slots 
 
4.0
Table Games 
 
4.0
Customer Service 
 
5.0
Player's Club 
 
4.0
Gaming Atmosphere 
 
3.0
Amenities or Hotel 
 
N/A
Food & Drink 
 
5.0

An unexpected all around best!

Best surprise in Las Vegas! Bring your friends here for a really fun time.
Best Bar B Que deal!
Best steak deal!
Best fun bar --Just sing a long!

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: July 19, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Slots 
 
5.0
Table Games 
 
N/A
Customer Service 
 
3.0
Player's Club 
 
4.0
Gaming Atmosphere 
 
4.0
Amenities or Hotel 
 
2.0
Food & Drink 
 
4.0

A Fun Place

I made 2 trips to this casino this trip. Used ACG coupon. I did pretty well the second trip, won some money and had 3 micros amber. They used to give you the large glass now its a pony. I like the beer and this place, I often meet friendly people playing VP. But sometimes not as there are some serious maybe pros even playing. Good variety of food.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: April 26, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Slots 
 
3.0
Table Games 
 
4.0
Customer Service 
 
4.0
Player's Club 
 
4.0
Gaming Atmosphere 
 
4.0
Amenities or Hotel 
 
3.0
Food & Drink 
 
4.0

Great place to get off the strip

This is great place to try if you are ready to try an off strip property that's within walking distance. There is no glitz or glamor here. What they do have is solid and afforable dining options, low table limits, and great beers. The much talked about off menu steak dinner is a great bargain play. And of course, the American Casino Guide coupon makes this place worth the walk.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: April 11, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Slots 
 
4.0
Table Games 
 
4.0
Customer Service 
 
4.0
Player's Club 
 
4.0
Gaming Atmosphere 
 
4.0
Amenities or Hotel 
 
3.0
Food & Drink 
 
4.0

Ellis = Good deal

Small and dark, but good casino. Some full pay video poker if you look for them. If you're a beer drinker you will love this place with its micro brews. They always have some kind of player promos going plus the A.C.G. coupons. Ellis is a city block off-strip behind Bally's but still close enough to walk, I always seem to get there every trip.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: January 10, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Slots 
 
4.0
Table Games 
 
4.0
Customer Service 
 
4.0
Player's Club 
 
4.0
Gaming Atmosphere 
 
4.0
Amenities or Hotel 
 
3.0
Food & Drink 
 
4.0

always a favorite

I actually went to this casino 3 times during my december trip, 2x for steak and eggs, 1x for vp and beer. The vp is good, in fact I think I had a pro next to me on a sunday night as he was not friendly. we did have poor drink service that night and they have reduced the size of the glasses for their delicious micro brewed beer, I always get the amber but my sons and sister and brother have all enjoyed their other selections. My steak and egg specials were good also. I had stayed and the super 8 next door before and the rooms are small but decent with an interesting amenities available.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: October 12, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
3.8
Slots 
 
4.0
Table Games 
 
N/A
Customer Service 
 
4.0
Player's Club 
 
4.0
Gaming Atmosphere 
 
3.0
Amenities or Hotel 
 
3.0
Food & Drink 
 
5.0

short but sweet

i had a short but sweet visit as i wanted my sister to see this iconic casino. as always the food and beer are a great value and tasty. there is still a bank of 9/6 vp job machines. they added a sandwiches shop. they also have 10x points on some machines and various offers from the kiosh machines

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: September 08, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Slots 
 
4.0
Table Games 
 
4.0
Customer Service 
 
4.0
Player's Club 
 
4.0
Gaming Atmosphere 
 
4.0
Amenities or Hotel 
 
3.0
Food & Drink 
 
4.0

Had a good time in the Ellis

enjoyed the micro brews while playing their JOB. Great Beer! Pretty good Cocktail service. Good
BBQ, a value steak dinner, and other meals. They have special Mexican and Italian nights. A fun
place.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: February 24, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Slots 
 
4.0
Table Games 
 
4.0
Customer Service 
 
4.0
Player's Club 
 
4.0
Gaming Atmosphere 
 
5.0
Amenities or Hotel 
 
2.0
Food & Drink 
 
4.0

Straight Forward Review

Straight Forward Review based on my 2 week trip last month:

Property-
Ellis Island Casino & Brewery near Las Vegas Strip

Pros-
Full Pay Jacks or Better Video Poker at quarter level
Friendly Staff
Great Steak Dinner Special
Great Steak & Eggs Special
Freeplay when joining slot club
Tasty microbrews
Strong drinks

Cons-
Smoky
Older Casino

Must Sees-
None, this is a no frills fun place

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: January 13, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Slots 
 
5.0
Table Games 
 
4.0
Customer Service 
 
4.0
Player's Club 
 
4.0
Gaming Atmosphere 
 
3.0
Amenities or Hotel 
 
3.0
Food & Drink 
 
5.0

Great Little Place

We went to Ellis Island because we were intrigued by the 4 free drink coupon in ACG, we keep going back because we always have a good time. We love "locals" casinos and Ellis Island may be small, but I always win. My husband loves the bar and the microbrews. The food is great, it pays to be an insider and know about the steak dinner special. People that love the strip probably will not like it, but we will continue to go back every trip.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: January 05, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
3.6
Slots 
 
3.0
Table Games 
 
5.0
Customer Service 
 
4.0
Player's Club 
 
4.0
Gaming Atmosphere 
 
3.0
Amenities or Hotel 
 
2.0
Food & Drink 
 
4.0

Ellis is still the island

My November excursion was short and not sweet as I could not find full pay 25 Jacks or Better. I think I played on a 9/5. Had one of their great micro brews, but the cost was a $40 dollar loss and a buck tip. Great beer but $41 bucks?!, lol. You win some you lose some, I have has some good winning sessions there. Great beer, BBQ, and Steak special. $7.95 still a great price with the
brew.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: October 26, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Slots 
 
4.0
Table Games 
 
3.0
Customer Service 
 
4.0
Player's Club 
 
4.0
Gaming Atmosphere 
 
4.0
Amenities or Hotel 
 
4.0
Food & Drink 
 
5.0

Ellis Island - Tiny fun place

I had read a review about this place some years ago and my hubby and I decided to try it on a lark. We went to the restaurant armed with our 2/1 coupon and got an off-the-menu sirloin steak special for $4.95 including baked potato, vegetable, and roll. The total price of both meals with the coupon was about $8 (the deal is now $7.95 but still a great price.) Since then this has become a must for our trips to Vegas and our most recent one in September, we went three times for breakfast, each time bringing friends who hadn't been there before. If you go on a weekend, you will wait for a table because they always seem to be short-staffed with several sections of the dining room closed, but it's worth the wait. Sign up for the players club and you may get a food or play bonus as well (they used to have matchplays on the table mats but no more).

The bar, I'm not that familiar with, but it's always packed with nightly karaoke. You really hear them singing in there. It seems to be what karaoke was created for. LOL.

This is also a locals joint as well so it's got the feel of Vegas all over it. Every time we're there, we really feel we've finally 'arrived'!

The casino is small but always fun to gamble there. The table games are low limits, and be sure to have your ACG card with you if you are using a matchplay because they are pretty strict about that sort of thing.

Going back in December and will be sure to be there again!

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: September 15, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Slots 
 
3.0
Table Games 
 
3.0
Customer Service 
 
2.0
Player's Club 
 
4.0
Gaming Atmosphere 
 
4.0
Amenities or Hotel 
 
3.0
Food & Drink 
 
4.0

I like Ellis Island

Personally, I like Ellis Island, it is small and quaint. I like how they provide promotions; just by swiping your players club card. Also, it can be a little nerve wrecking when you have to wait until the next day to have your rewards posted to your account.
On the other hand, when you cash out; sometimes there are coupons for free pizza and a free root beer, this is awesome, especially when it's good...so they have great pizza and don't forget to tip!

Was this review helpful to you? 
55 results - showing 1 - 30  
1 2  
 
Powered by JReviews

Latest Forum Posts

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Youtube
  • Pinterest
  • Instagram
Copyright © 2018 American Casino Guide. All Rights Reserved.
Joomla! is Free Software released under the GNU General Public License.