Ellis Island Casino & Brewery

Hot
 
3.6 (55)
26516   0   3   0   0   0

User reviews

13 reviews with 3 stars

55 reviews

 
(4)
 
(34)
 
(13)
 
(3)
 
(1)
Overall rating 
 
3.6
 
3.7  (55)
 
3.4  (49)
 
3.9  (55)
 
3.9  (55)
 
3.4  (55)
 
2.7  (50)
 
4.2  (55)
Back to Listing
Ratings (the higher the better)
Slots
Table Games
Customer Service
Player's Club
Gaming Atmosphere
Amenities or Hotel
Food & Drink
Comments
13 results - showing 1 - 13  
 
Ordering 
 
(Updated: August 17, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
2.7
Slots 
 
3.0
Table Games 
 
2.0
Customer Service 
 
4.0
Player's Club 
 
3.0
Gaming Atmosphere 
 
2.0
Amenities or Hotel 
 
2.0
Food & Drink 
 
3.0

Two bars to serve you

There are 2 bars – a main bar and a karaoke bar. The ACG and LVA free drinks coupons are only accepted at the main bar located near the BBQ/Metro Pizza, but you are free to bring the drinks into the karaoke lounge. Several in-house brewed beers are available with my favorite being the Hefe Weiss. In addition, a root beer is brewed in-house and available for takeout. There are a few seasonal drinks including an egg nog that is outstanding and best ordered on the rocks. I believe it is available from sometime in mid-to-late November until it runs out, usually after the New Year. A twisted tea is currently offered, but I found it to be disappointing.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: August 14, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
2.6
Slots 
 
3.0
Table Games 
 
2.0
Customer Service 
 
3.0
Player's Club 
 
3.0
Gaming Atmosphere 
 
2.0
Amenities or Hotel 
 
2.0
Food & Drink 
 
3.0

Good dining options

The restaurant serves reasonably priced food. We almost always have at one least breakfast there on each trip using the ACG 2/1 coupon. Our particular favorites are the buttermilk pancakes, 2 eggs any style and the cinnamon vanilla French toast - each priced at only $3.99. Though there have been many complaints about service, we have encountered few problems in the morning. Ellis also has a BBQ restaurant which features very good ribs, but the sides are disappointing. There is often a line for both restaurants. The Metro Pizza outlet is just okay IMHO. A recent dining addition (Feb 2012) is the Boardhouse Serious Sandwiches which we have are not tempted to try.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: July 28, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
2.7
Slots 
 
3.0
Table Games 
 
2.0
Customer Service 
 
4.0
Player's Club 
 
3.0
Gaming Atmosphere 
 
2.0
Amenities or Hotel 
 
2.0
Food & Drink 
 
3.0

NSUD still available

Until recently, a wide variety of full pay video poker was available, but schedules have been downgraded almost across the board. The best games right now are (4) 25 cents slant tops with NSUD just outside the karaoke lounge plus a few banks of 9/6 JOB machines.

The play $10, receive $10 in free slot play coupons in the 2012 editions of the LVA and ACG require you play one day and return for the free play the afternoon following or anytime before year end. I managed to recoup the cost of my ACG while playing off the free play this year. We found the personnel staffing the slot booth to be both friendly and informative.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: July 26, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
2.9
Slots 
 
4.0
Table Games 
 
2.0
Customer Service 
 
4.0
Player's Club 
 
3.0
Gaming Atmosphere 
 
2.0
Amenities or Hotel 
 
1.0
Food & Drink 
 
4.0

Frequent visitor

Its location behind Bally’s allows people staying on the Strip to visit. My wife and I always rent a car so we make frequent visits for the free drinks, bargain basement dining and free slot play using coupons from both the ACG and LVA. There are a limited number of outdoor parking spaces, be careful to not use those for the adjoining Super 8 Motel, but we usually end up in the parking garage.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: December 07, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
3.2
Slots 
 
3.0
Table Games 
 
3.0
Customer Service 
 
4.0
Player's Club 
 
3.0
Gaming Atmosphere 
 
2.0
Amenities or Hotel 
 
3.0
Food & Drink 
 
4.0

Local Joint, Not For Everyone

You know, Ellis Island is one of those places you'll either love or hate. It's definitely a place for locals and you'll see that when you walk through the door. One of Ellis Island's claims to fame is their $6.95 (or maybe it was $7.95) strip steak special. They have had it for years and it's available any time. It comes with a decent steak, vegetable, potato, salad, roll. The basic Vegas steak dinner special. This place has table games and slots and they're ok...but expect some smoke, it can be smokey. We also noticed the last time we had their steak dinner that a karaoke bar was next to the restaurant and we had to listen to liquored-up locals spew Neil Diamond and Barbara Streisand numbers the entire night. But we were able to live with it, we actually thought it was sort of funny, it just got on our nerves a bit later in the night.

If you don't mind the "local flavor" and some smoke and you like those Vegas meal deals, this is a place for you. If not, you might want to skip this place.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: November 29, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
3.4
Slots 
 
3.0
Table Games 
 
3.0
Customer Service 
 
4.0
Player's Club 
 
3.0
Gaming Atmosphere 
 
5.0
Amenities or Hotel 
 
1.0
Food & Drink 
 
5.0

Like a lot of the Girls in Vegas - Fast, Cheap and

Ellis Island is like one of those "holes in wall" type places that we all like to love...

Last trip here I went in with my free drink coupons in tow and an empty belly... I learned from the first trip. About a 10 minute walk from Bally's, this place should be on everyone's list.

The BBQ Ribs are unreal. By looking at this place and after walking through it, most would be scared to eat here. The steak dinner is probably one of the best bangs for your buck here.

Gambling is cheap, with a gaming atmosphere I love. Low roof, lots of noise from patrons and machines, lots of smoke... It feels like it should be dangerous, but everyone here is having a blast, especially when karaoke gets going and somebody decides to sing Sweet Caroline by Neil Diamond.

It's such an easy walk to get to, and a great change from the Strip. There are a ton of locals in this place too. They can't be wrong if they go there.

CM

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: October 25, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Slots 
 
3.0
Table Games 
 
3.0
Customer Service 
 
3.0
Player's Club 
 
3.0
Gaming Atmosphere 
 
2.0
Amenities or Hotel 
 
3.0
Food & Drink 
 
4.0

Great low-roller joint

Easy walk from the strip to this low-roller joint. Concrete floors, $5 tables, and quick drink service - if that's your kind of Vegas this place is for you. The off the menu steak special is a great deal. Don't show up in your clubbing attire, and you'll fit right in.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: October 09, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
3.2
Slots 
 
3.0
Table Games 
 
3.0
Customer Service 
 
4.0
Player's Club 
 
3.0
Gaming Atmosphere 
 
3.0
Amenities or Hotel 
 
2.0
Food & Drink 
 
4.0

Fun to visit

Ellis Island is a fun place to visit while you are in Las Vegas. They have a great steak dinner special in the restaurant (not on the menu). The casino is small but they have a good selection of machines. The beer they brew is very good and the people are very friendly!

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: September 27, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
3.2
Slots 
 
3.0
Table Games 
 
3.0
Customer Service 
 
3.0
Player's Club 
 
3.0
Gaming Atmosphere 
 
3.0
Amenities or Hotel 
 
3.0
Food & Drink 
 
4.0

Ellis Island

Ellis Island Casino is a small place with a nice restaurant where you can use your 2 for 1 ACG coupon. You have to wait 24 hours to get the $10 ecash applied to your account when using that ACG coupon.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: September 15, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Slots 
 
3.0
Table Games 
 
3.0
Customer Service 
 
2.0
Player's Club 
 
4.0
Gaming Atmosphere 
 
4.0
Amenities or Hotel 
 
3.0
Food & Drink 
 
4.0

I like Ellis Island

Personally, I like Ellis Island, it is small and quaint. I like how they provide promotions; just by swiping your players club card. Also, it can be a little nerve wrecking when you have to wait until the next day to have your rewards posted to your account.
On the other hand, when you cash out; sometimes there are coupons for free pizza and a free root beer, this is awesome, especially when it's good...so they have great pizza and don't forget to tip!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
2.6
Slots 
 
3.0
Table Games 
 
3.0
Customer Service 
 
1.0
Player's Club 
 
4.0
Gaming Atmosphere 
 
2.0
Amenities or Hotel 
 
2.0
Food & Drink 
 
3.0

Good steak deal

Visited this place to try the highly touted steak dinner for $6.99. It was a good deal, but the steak was a little tough. Overall I didn't expect this place to be a top notch steakhouse, and I was right, but the meal was decent.

In the casino we used a couple of the coupons. We're not big gamblers, but decided to try a few of the machines. When we tried to used the 4 free drinks coupon from the ACG, the bartender made some extremely rude comment. We finished our drinks and promptly left. I doubt that we will ever return to this place again in our next Vegas trip.

You would think in the current economic conditions facing Nevada, and Vegas in general, that these places would be doing everything possible to make you welcome. However, Ellis Island's staff does not seem to understand the nature of customer service and prefers to make the customer's angry by making rude comments.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.4
Slots 
 
3.0
Table Games 
 
3.0
Customer Service 
 
4.0
Player's Club 
 
3.0
Gaming Atmosphere 
 
3.0
Amenities or Hotel 
 
3.0
Food & Drink 
 
5.0

Ellis Island Casino


Ellis Island Casino is a very small casino with great food. Don't forget to take your ACG coupon.



?

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Slots 
 
3.0
Table Games 
 
3.0
Customer Service 
 
3.0
Player's Club 
 
3.0
Gaming Atmosphere 
 
3.0
Amenities or Hotel 
 
3.0
Food & Drink 
 
3.0

Not Just Steak Special

The steak special is now $6.95 but it includes a microbrew or root beer. The ACG 2-4-1 menu coupon opens up a lot of other options at around the same cost per person as the special.



Some machines are giving 40x points now, check at the slot club desk.

Was this review helpful to you? 
13 results - showing 1 - 13  
 
 
Powered by JReviews

Latest Forum Posts

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Youtube
  • Pinterest
  • Instagram
Copyright © 2018 American Casino Guide. All Rights Reserved.
Joomla! is Free Software released under the GNU General Public License.