Mountaineer Casino Racetrack & Resort Hot

http://www.americancasinoguide.com/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/300x300s/0c/61/3c/1717_mt-134936557595.jpg
 
2.1 (40)
64423   0   1   0   0   0
Write Review

Details

Address
1000 Washington St
City
Newell
State
West Virginia
Zip Code
26050
Country
United States
Phone
(304) 387-2400

Toll-Free Number: (800) 804-0468
Room Reservations: (800) 489-8192
Rooms: 238  Price Range: $117-$179
Suites: 20  Price Range: $165-$229
Restaurants: 8 Valet Parking: $5
Buffets: L- $8.99 D-14.99
Hours: 24 Hours Daily
Games Offered: Slots, Video Poker, Blackjack, Craps, Roulette, Poker, Three Card Poker, Four Card Poker, Let It Ride, Big Six Wheel, Mini-Baccarat, Pai Gow Poker
Overnight RV Parking: Free/RV Dump: No
Special Features: 18-hole golf course. Spa and fitness center. Live thoroughbred racing SatTue. Daily simulcasting of horse/dog racing.

 

Map

Swap Start/End

User reviews View all user reviews

Average user rating from: 40 user(s)

Overall rating 
 
2.1
Slots 
 
1.8  (40)
Table Games 
 
2.1  (37)
Customer Service 
 
2.2  (40)
Player's Club 
 
2.0  (40)
Gaming Atmosphere 
 
2.2  (40)
Amenities or Hotel 
 
2.4  (37)
Food & Drink 
 
2.0  (40)
Already have an account?
Ratings (the higher the better)
  • Slots
  • Table Games
  • Customer Service
  • Player's Club
  • Gaming Atmosphere
  • Amenities or Hotel
  • Food & Drink
Comments
Please enter the security code.
We used to visit this casino twice a week and spend more money than we ever should have. I can't wait until the casino in Austintown, Oh. opens!!!! Mountaineer is a joke! Playing max bet gets you nothing! You wait forever for a free game on the slots and when you finally get one they pay next to nothing! We were there Monday evening 03/31/14 and there were 5 power outages during the time we were there! All slots shut down every time the power went out and had to re program!! The free play that you get for the amount of money you spend is ridiculous!! We go to Erie maybe once every 6 months and get more free play from than we do going to Mountaineer twice a week!! What a joke! But, I guess it's our fault for returning. We will not be making that mistake again. I would rather travel and am looking forward to going to the new Rocksino in Northfield and will be looking forward to the new casino in Austintown. Totally discouraged as was everyone around us playing!!
Overall rating 
 
1.0
Slots 
 
1.0
Table Games 
 
N/A
Customer Service 
 
1.0
Player's Club 
 
1.0
Gaming Atmosphere 
 
1.0
Amenities or Hotel 
 
N/A
Food & Drink 
 
1.0
Reviewed by Linda April 02, 2014
Last updated: April 02, 2014

Bad News

We used to visit this casino twice a week and spend more money than we ever should have. I can't wait until the casino in Austintown, Oh. opens!!!! Mountaineer is a joke! Playing max bet gets you nothing! You wait forever for a free game on the slots and when you finally get one they pay next to nothing! We were there Monday evening 03/31/14 and there were 5 power outages during the time we were there! All slots shut down every time the power went out and had to re program!! The free play that you get for the amount of money you spend is ridiculous!! We go to Erie maybe once every 6 months and get more free play from than we do going to Mountaineer twice a week!! What a joke! But, I guess it's our fault for returning. We will not be making that mistake again. I would rather travel and am looking forward to going to the new Rocksino in Northfield and will be looking forward to the new casino in Austintown. Totally discouraged as was everyone around us playing!!

Was this review helpful to you? 
I have always enjoyed my time at the Mountaineer. I believe (like most casinos) if the place is busy, there is more play on the machines therefore they will payoff more. Food at Big Al's is good and the buffet is more than adequate. The Steakhouse is excellent. The hotel and lodge are showing the wear and tear but my understanding is updates will begin this year. My friend and I come and enjoy the getaway. I am a non-smoker and I have to say that I personally haven't had a problem with too much smoke. I read a few reviews and maybe there may be more of a problem at the tables rather than the slots. Overall, I love going to the Mountaineer (I live west of Cleveland and the 3 casinos near me are nice but I like going to the Mountaineer.
Overall rating 
 
3.8
Slots 
 
4.0
Table Games 
 
N/A
Customer Service 
 
3.0
Player's Club 
 
4.0
Gaming Atmosphere 
 
4.0
Amenities or Hotel 
 
4.0
Food & Drink 
 
4.0
Reviewed by Patty King February 26, 2014
Last updated: February 26, 2014

I Always Have Fun Here

I have always enjoyed my time at the Mountaineer. I believe (like most casinos) if the place is busy, there is more play on the machines therefore they will payoff more. Food at Big Al's is good and the buffet is more than adequate. The Steakhouse is excellent. The hotel and lodge are showing the wear and tear but my understanding is updates will begin this year. My friend and I come and enjoy the getaway. I am a non-smoker and I have to say that I personally haven't had a problem with too much smoke. I read a few reviews and maybe there may be more of a problem at the tables rather than the slots. Overall, I love going to the Mountaineer (I live west of Cleveland and the 3 casinos near me are nice but I like going to the Mountaineer.

Was this review helpful to you? 
I visit every 1-2 months and drive 3 1/2 hours. My husband comes with me at times and likes the set up of the casino. He has no trouble finding me. The food is ok at the bar and The Gatsby. I hardly ever win but that is the chance you take. I enjoy the getaway at least we get free rooms. I am a smoker and this is one reason I go there. I do not frequent a casino with no smoking. The people complaining of smokers have a choice to go to non-smoking casino. I live a mile from one but drive over three hours to visit mountaineer. The staff has always been helpful. They could have more waitresses on th floor.
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Slots 
 
3.0
Table Games 
 
4.0
Customer Service 
 
4.0
Player's Club 
 
4.0
Gaming Atmosphere 
 
5.0
Amenities or Hotel 
 
4.0
Food & Drink 
 
4.0
Reviewed by cherry cadle January 22, 2014
Last updated: January 22, 2014

Very happy customer

I visit every 1-2 months and drive 3 1/2 hours. My husband comes with me at times and likes the set up of the casino. He has no trouble finding me. The food is ok at the bar and The Gatsby. I hardly ever win but that is the chance you take. I enjoy the getaway at least we get free rooms. I am a smoker and this is one reason I go there. I do not frequent a casino with no smoking. The people complaining of smokers have a choice to go to non-smoking casino. I live a mile from one but drive over three hours to visit mountaineer. The staff has always been helpful. They could have more waitresses on th floor.

Was this review helpful to you? 
My wife and I have been going to this CASINO????? long before they had a hotel with pool etc.
Every fri. is our date night out and mountaineer seemed to be a good choice for relaxation and some fun.
AS OF TODAY 12-3-13 WE ARE CHECKING OTHER OPTIONS FOR OUR FRIDAY NIGHT DATES!!!!!!!
Overall rating 
 
1.2
Slots 
 
1.0
Table Games 
 
N/A
Customer Service 
 
1.0
Player's Club 
 
1.0
Gaming Atmosphere 
 
1.0
Amenities or Hotel 
 
N/A
Food & Drink 
 
2.0
Reviewed by Rolland Morrison December 03, 2013
Last updated: December 03, 2013

LONG TIME CARD CLUB MEMBER

My wife and I have been going to this CASINO????? long before they had a hotel with pool etc.
Every fri. is our date night out and mountaineer seemed to be a good choice for relaxation and some fun.
AS OF TODAY 12-3-13 WE ARE CHECKING OTHER OPTIONS FOR OUR FRIDAY NIGHT DATES!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful to you? 
I can't believe I go to this place every time I am there. I NEVER win a dime. The slots are so tight, I swear they are screaming in pain when I get there. If you think it would be nice to win once in awhile don't go to Mountaineer.

The player's club...what player's club? I get offered $10 once in a blue moon.
The rooms--crappy.
Atmosphere--well at least the ventilation seems adequate.
The place is dark and creepy on a Friday night. Hey, maybe that works in October, but not always.
Food? They have food there? Buffets are horrid looking. And "snacks" are straight out of the Sam's Club box. Very processed looking.

As before, don't waste your time.
Overall rating 
 
1.0
Slots 
 
1.0
Table Games 
 
1.0
Customer Service 
 
1.0
Player's Club 
 
1.0
Gaming Atmosphere 
 
1.0
Amenities or Hotel 
 
1.0
Food & Drink 
 
1.0
Reviewed by carolinamoon October 17, 2013
Last updated: October 17, 2013

You're Right It Sucks

I can't believe I go to this place every time I am there. I NEVER win a dime. The slots are so tight, I swear they are screaming in pain when I get there. If you think it would be nice to win once in awhile don't go to Mountaineer.

The player's club...what player's club? I get offered $10 once in a blue moon.
The rooms--crappy.
Atmosphere--well at least the ventilation seems adequate.
The place is dark and creepy on a Friday night. Hey, maybe that works in October, but not always.
Food? They have food there? Buffets are horrid looking. And "snacks" are straight out of the Sam's Club box. Very processed looking.

As before, don't waste your time.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Attended The Harv Friday August 30, 2013 for the Foreigner concert. Had a great time. But I also went into the Casino before and after the show. I just wanted to say thank you for the changes you have made, since my last visit. I was extremely happy to see that you did not raise your table limits. There was plenty of 5 dollar tables and when I returned after 10 they were still 5 dollars. Also i'm not quite sure if the self service beverage bar is new or not, (don't play slots a whole lot) but that was awesome, to be able to help ourselves. One last comment I Loved the fact that I could Smoke !!!! Will make the drive from Akron Ohio again, Hopefully soon.
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Slots 
 
5.0
Table Games 
 
5.0
Customer Service 
 
5.0
Player's Club 
 
5.0
Gaming Atmosphere 
 
5.0
Amenities or Hotel 
 
N/A
Food & Drink 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Sharon Loren August 31, 2013

Thumbs Up !!!!

Attended The Harv Friday August 30, 2013 for the Foreigner concert. Had a great time. But I also went into the Casino before and after the show. I just wanted to say thank you for the changes you have made, since my last visit. I was extremely happy to see that you did not raise your table limits. There was plenty of 5 dollar tables and when I returned after 10 they were still 5 dollars. Also i'm not quite sure if the self service beverage bar is new or not, (don't play slots a whole lot) but that was awesome, to be able to help ourselves. One last comment I Loved the fact that I could Smoke !!!! Will make the drive from Akron Ohio again, Hopefully soon.

Was this review helpful to you? 
The variety of slots is decent, but most are outdated. For those who enjoy the nostalgia of old-time slot machines, then this may be a good thing. The machines are worn down. However, denominations are very good.
My favorite thing about going to Mountaineer is that it is always easy to find open seats at whatever game it is you want to play. Also, table limits are great. It is nice to be able to play $5 blackjack still. The smoking is bothersome to non-smokers. Tables frequently become dirty and stained from ashes.
Don't go hungry. They really don't have much in the way of food. There is a buffet, but it does not look appetizing enough for me to try.
Overall rating 
 
2.4
Slots 
 
2.0
Table Games 
 
4.0
Customer Service 
 
4.0
Player's Club 
 
2.0
Gaming Atmosphere 
 
2.0
Amenities or Hotel 
 
2.0
Food & Drink 
 
1.0
Reviewed by Justin December 11, 2012
Last updated: December 11, 2012

Mountaineer

The variety of slots is decent, but most are outdated. For those who enjoy the nostalgia of old-time slot machines, then this may be a good thing. The machines are worn down. However, denominations are very good.
My favorite thing about going to Mountaineer is that it is always easy to find open seats at whatever game it is you want to play. Also, table limits are great. It is nice to be able to play $5 blackjack still. The smoking is bothersome to non-smokers. Tables frequently become dirty and stained from ashes.
Don't go hungry. They really don't have much in the way of food. There is a buffet, but it does not look appetizing enough for me to try.

Was this review helpful to you? 
It is getting old, and losing the tri-state gaming race.
Overall rating 
 
2.0
Slots 
 
3.0
Table Games 
 
1.0
Customer Service 
 
2.0
Player's Club 
 
1.0
Gaming Atmosphere 
 
3.0
Amenities or Hotel 
 
2.0
Food & Drink 
 
2.0
Reviewed by seeyea August 10, 2012
Last updated: August 10, 2012

see ya

It is getting old, and losing the tri-state gaming race.

Was this review helpful to you? 
We have always loved going to Mountaineer for the gambling and the get away. So my husband booked us a room for Valentines Day I ended up in the hospital for the month of Feb. so now I am feeling much better and we wanted to go back but they took away or status for a free room darn it! So unless we hear from someone from mountaineer I guess we have to find some where else to spend or money on our little get aways!
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Slots 
 
4.0
Table Games 
 
3.0
Customer Service 
 
4.0
Player's Club 
 
4.0
Gaming Atmosphere 
 
3.0
Amenities or Hotel 
 
4.0
Food & Drink 
 
4.0
Reviewed by nancy June 01, 2012
Last updated: June 01, 2012

Wanted to go back

We have always loved going to Mountaineer for the gambling and the get away. So my husband booked us a room for Valentines Day I ended up in the hospital for the month of Feb. so now I am feeling much better and we wanted to go back but they took away or status for a free room darn it! So unless we hear from someone from mountaineer I guess we have to find some where else to spend or money on our little get aways!

Was this review helpful to you? 
When i first started going to the mountaneer i got free hotel rooms, free play, free food and we won everytime we came down. Now, they do not pay out like they used to and on top of that i get 5.00 in free play and it's very seldom. That place stinks now.
Overall rating 
 
1.0
Slots 
 
1.0
Table Games 
 
1.0
Customer Service 
 
1.0
Player's Club 
 
1.0
Gaming Atmosphere 
 
1.0
Amenities or Hotel 
 
1.0
Food & Drink 
 
1.0
Reviewed by leonard seni May 10, 2012
Last updated: May 10, 2012

not paying like they used to

When i first started going to the mountaneer i got free hotel rooms, free play, free food and we won everytime we came down. Now, they do not pay out like they used to and on top of that i get 5.00 in free play and it's very seldom. That place stinks now.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Ever since management changed everything went downhill.
Overall rating 
 
1.0
Slots 
 
1.0
Table Games 
 
1.0
Customer Service 
 
1.0
Player's Club 
 
1.0
Gaming Atmosphere 
 
1.0
Amenities or Hotel 
 
1.0
Food & Drink 
 
1.0
Reviewed by Tim F May 07, 2012
Last updated: May 07, 2012

Money sink

Ever since management changed everything went downhill.

Was this review helpful to you? 
I hate this casino. The only thing good about Mountaineer is that it's the closest casino to my home in Ohio. Unfortunately, I would rather spend another 20 minutes and go to Wheeling (actually I prefer Meadows or Rivers which is 45 minutes further).
The atmosphere is terrible. This dark, smoke filled joint reminds me of Las Vegas' Ellis Island Casino -- lot of smoke.
Overall I've done well on the table games, but, I always manage to sit next to a bunch of smokers. Even when I do find a table that has no smokers, the second had smoke from the other tables seem to be overwhelming.
As far as the table games are concerned, I only play BlackJack. Mini Baccarat is in the High Rollers section and has a $25 mnimum -- boo. The slots are just as tight as they are at Presque Isle (aren't they sister properties?).
The food selection is horrible. The Player's Club is a joke. Last, but, not least, the customer service is less than desired.
I really have nothing good to say about this joint. In fact, as much as I don't like Presque Isle, I dislike Mountaineer even more.
Stay away from this lung cancer inducing, rip-off of a casino.
Overall rating 
 
1.2
Slots 
 
1.0
Table Games 
 
2.0
Customer Service 
 
1.0
Player's Club 
 
1.0
Gaming Atmosphere 
 
1.0
Amenities or Hotel 
 
1.0
Food & Drink 
 
1.0
Reviewed by Steele February 24, 2012
Last updated: February 24, 2012

Absolutely Terrible

I hate this casino. The only thing good about Mountaineer is that it's the closest casino to my home in Ohio. Unfortunately, I would rather spend another 20 minutes and go to Wheeling (actually I prefer Meadows or Rivers which is 45 minutes further).
The atmosphere is terrible. This dark, smoke filled joint reminds me of Las Vegas' Ellis Island Casino -- lot of smoke.
Overall I've done well on the table games, but, I always manage to sit next to a bunch of smokers. Even when I do find a table that has no smokers, the second had smoke from the other tables seem to be overwhelming.
As far as the table games are concerned, I only play BlackJack. Mini Baccarat is in the High Rollers section and has a $25 mnimum -- boo. The slots are just as tight as they are at Presque Isle (aren't they sister properties?).
The food selection is horrible. The Player's Club is a joke. Last, but, not least, the customer service is less than desired.
I really have nothing good to say about this joint. In fact, as much as I don't like Presque Isle, I dislike Mountaineer even more.
Stay away from this lung cancer inducing, rip-off of a casino.

Was this review helpful to you? 
All I can say is shame on them and they should consider closing their doors. The place stinks so bad from smoke, if you're a smoker then it would not bother you, but for someone that has asthma and is allergic to smoke, it's not a place to be. Machines are a joke. I don't think they even pay out. Tight! Tight! and did I say tight! Take your money and go to wheeling island , the meadows, or the Rivers Casino in Pittsburgh PA.
Overall rating 
 
1.0
Slots 
 
1.0
Table Games 
 
1.0
Customer Service 
 
1.0
Player's Club 
 
1.0
Gaming Atmosphere 
 
1.0
Amenities or Hotel 
 
1.0
Food & Drink 
 
1.0
Reviewed by Connie Hart January 23, 2012
Last updated: January 23, 2012

What a joke

All I can say is shame on them and they should consider closing their doors. The place stinks so bad from smoke, if you're a smoker then it would not bother you, but for someone that has asthma and is allergic to smoke, it's not a place to be. Machines are a joke. I don't think they even pay out. Tight! Tight! and did I say tight! Take your money and go to wheeling island , the meadows, or the Rivers Casino in Pittsburgh PA.

Was this review helpful to you? 
I couldn't give a rating lower than a one, so here's my opinion:

Slots - I have tried nearly every single game they have, and the payouts either don't make sense, or you win less than your bet!
Table Games - If you can find one without someone smoking a stinking cigar, the house seems to have an edge.
Customer Service - One word..........SUCKS! The cashiers (the ones that are actually open), are ignorant, waitresses are RUDE!
Player's Club - I spend nearly $1,000+ a month, and I am still at the lowest club membership there is. Total joke!
Atmosphere - SMELLS LIKE AN ASHTRAY, horrible smelling cigars, and stinky old lady perfume!!!!!
Amenities - Nothing to brag about, and the coffee pots look like they haven't been cleaned in years!
Food / Drink - Being a beer drinker, not sure about mixed drinks. The beers are OUTRAGEOUSLY over priced!

So, in short, SAVE YOUR MONEY, and go to the Meadows or Wheeling Island. We always seem to do well there.
Overall rating 
 
1.0
Slots 
 
1.0
Table Games 
 
1.0
Customer Service 
 
1.0
Player's Club 
 
1.0
Gaming Atmosphere 
 
1.0
Amenities or Hotel 
 
1.0
Food & Drink 
 
1.0
Reviewed by PA slot player January 13, 2012
Last updated: January 14, 2012

SAVE YOUR MONEY

I couldn't give a rating lower than a one, so here's my opinion:

Slots - I have tried nearly every single game they have, and the payouts either don't make sense, or you win less than your bet!
Table Games - If you can find one without someone smoking a stinking cigar, the house seems to have an edge.
Customer Service - One word..........SUCKS! The cashiers (the ones that are actually open), are ignorant, waitresses are RUDE!
Player's Club - I spend nearly $1,000+ a month, and I am still at the lowest club membership there is. Total joke!
Atmosphere - SMELLS LIKE AN ASHTRAY, horrible smelling cigars, and stinky old lady perfume!!!!!
Amenities - Nothing to brag about, and the coffee pots look like they haven't been cleaned in years!
Food / Drink - Being a beer drinker, not sure about mixed drinks. The beers are OUTRAGEOUSLY over priced!

So, in short, SAVE YOUR MONEY, and go to the Meadows or Wheeling Island. We always seem to do well there.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Used to work there, and if you are a horse lover, it's great. However if you care to be in the Pitt. area without going to the Rivers, It's OK.
Overall rating 
 
2.0
Slots 
 
2.0
Table Games 
 
2.0
Customer Service 
 
2.0
Player's Club 
 
2.0
Gaming Atmosphere 
 
2.0
Amenities or Hotel 
 
2.0
Food & Drink 
 
2.0
Reviewed by Brad December 05, 2011
Last updated: December 05, 2011

OK if you like Horses.

Used to work there, and if you are a horse lover, it's great. However if you care to be in the Pitt. area without going to the Rivers, It's OK.

Was this review helpful to you? 
My sister & I went to Mountaineer Casino 10-10-11 (Columbus Day). We enjoy playing the Moolah machines. Sis hit the Barn Bucks bonus on one of the machines. (We were playing the maximum, $4.50, per spin). All she got in her Barn Bucks bonus round was 75 cents! I didn't even know you could win so little. One time I got the Barn Bucks bonus and all I got was $12.00! I hardly call either of these amounts a bonus! The luncheon buffet was terrible. I wished we would have gone up and looked it over before paying for it. The only good thing I can say about Mountaineer is that they do give you free slot money & free nights stay in their hotel to entice you to come.
Overall rating 
 
2.0
Slots 
 
1.0
Table Games 
 
1.0
Customer Service 
 
1.0
Player's Club 
 
2.0
Gaming Atmosphere 
 
4.0
Amenities or Hotel 
 
4.0
Food & Drink 
 
1.0
Reviewed by Tuffcookie October 11, 2011
Last updated: October 11, 2011

Bad Payoffs on Slot Bonus Spins

My sister & I went to Mountaineer Casino 10-10-11 (Columbus Day). We enjoy playing the Moolah machines. Sis hit the Barn Bucks bonus on one of the machines. (We were playing the maximum, $4.50, per spin). All she got in her Barn Bucks bonus round was 75 cents! I didn't even know you could win so little. One time I got the Barn Bucks bonus and all I got was $12.00! I hardly call either of these amounts a bonus! The luncheon buffet was terrible. I wished we would have gone up and looked it over before paying for it. The only good thing I can say about Mountaineer is that they do give you free slot money & free nights stay in their hotel to entice you to come.

Was this review helpful to you? 
I just returned from the weekend (Sat, 10-1-11) where myself and my nephew were playing a poker tournament and some cash games. This was my first trip here and the last. The place smells like an ashtray. The poker chips were dirty and sticky. I probably washed my hands at least 20 times while I was there. Smoking is allowed and the ventilation does not do much good in preventing the smoke from lingering. The place smells and is very outdated. The restrooms were filthy. It looked liked they havn't been cleaned in a month. For a Saturday the place should have been jumping but the atmosphere sucks. Also, there was no type of entertainment until 10pm. I could go on and on, including the food but why bother. I will never return. Unless you are a smoker and don't mind the filth and smell I would stay far away.
Overall rating 
 
1.0
Slots 
 
1.0
Table Games 
 
1.0
Customer Service 
 
1.0
Player's Club 
 
1.0
Gaming Atmosphere 
 
1.0
Amenities or Hotel 
 
1.0
Food & Drink 
 
1.0
Reviewed by Bruce October 03, 2011
Last updated: October 04, 2011

Dirtest Casino in America?

I just returned from the weekend (Sat, 10-1-11) where myself and my nephew were playing a poker tournament and some cash games. This was my first trip here and the last. The place smells like an ashtray. The poker chips were dirty and sticky. I probably washed my hands at least 20 times while I was there. Smoking is allowed and the ventilation does not do much good in preventing the smoke from lingering. The place smells and is very outdated. The restrooms were filthy. It looked liked they havn't been cleaned in a month. For a Saturday the place should have been jumping but the atmosphere sucks. Also, there was no type of entertainment until 10pm. I could go on and on, including the food but why bother. I will never return. Unless you are a smoker and don't mind the filth and smell I would stay far away.

Was this review helpful to you? 
I will never go again. I gave everything a 1 star rating because it would not go any lower. Our room had black mold in the bathroom. Glasses sitting in the hallway from another room sat there the entire time we were there (1 1/2 days) The hallway stunk. People were very rude. Tightest slot machines I have ever played on. Everyone I talked to agreed. Lots of older machines. I play video poker. No new machines. When I asked why I could not get an answer. They just shook their heads. Went to the buffet in the afternoon;they were serving hotdogs. When we left the next morning at about 9:30 there was no management personnel there to listen to our complaint. I think they were hiding. Could go on but can only say NEVER,EVER AGAIN.
Overall rating 
 
1.0
Slots 
 
1.0
Table Games 
 
1.0
Customer Service 
 
1.0
Player's Club 
 
1.0
Gaming Atmosphere 
 
1.0
Amenities or Hotel 
 
1.0
Food & Drink 
 
1.0
Reviewed by Ed September 05, 2011
Last updated: September 05, 2011

Never,ever again

I will never go again. I gave everything a 1 star rating because it would not go any lower. Our room had black mold in the bathroom. Glasses sitting in the hallway from another room sat there the entire time we were there (1 1/2 days) The hallway stunk. People were very rude. Tightest slot machines I have ever played on. Everyone I talked to agreed. Lots of older machines. I play video poker. No new machines. When I asked why I could not get an answer. They just shook their heads. Went to the buffet in the afternoon;they were serving hotdogs. When we left the next morning at about 9:30 there was no management personnel there to listen to our complaint. I think they were hiding. Could go on but can only say NEVER,EVER AGAIN.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Thank you to everyone who rated this casino. I WILL NOT visit this casino now. Money is hard enough to come by to just walk in to a casino and give it away with no chance of winning.
Overall rating 
 
1.0
Slots 
 
1.0
Table Games 
 
1.0
Customer Service 
 
1.0
Player's Club 
 
1.0
Gaming Atmosphere 
 
1.0
Amenities or Hotel 
 
1.0
Food & Drink 
 
1.0
Reviewed by Patricia McCommas July 02, 2011
Last updated: July 02, 2011

Glad I saw all the poor reviews for this casino be

Thank you to everyone who rated this casino. I WILL NOT visit this casino now. Money is hard enough to come by to just walk in to a casino and give it away with no chance of winning.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Just visited the casino this morning, I can see why it has been a while. The slot machines were so tight i am sure that i will never go again. I had been over in Pa. at their partner casino and i did fairly well. I played some similar slots, in fact, the one i won the most money on. The max was 250 credits and here it's 500 credits and i played the same way i did in Pa.
I will never go there again, i will go to Vegas first. At least i can win enough to pay for my whole trip. So, so long Mountaineer..........
Overall rating 
 
1.3
Slots 
 
1.0
Table Games 
 
1.0
Customer Service 
 
2.0
Player's Club 
 
1.0
Gaming Atmosphere 
 
1.0
Amenities or Hotel 
 
1.0
Food & Drink 
 
2.0
Reviewed by Diane June 17, 2011
Last updated: June 18, 2011

Slots stink

Just visited the casino this morning, I can see why it has been a while. The slot machines were so tight i am sure that i will never go again. I had been over in Pa. at their partner casino and i did fairly well. I played some similar slots, in fact, the one i won the most money on. The max was 250 credits and here it's 500 credits and i played the same way i did in Pa.
I will never go there again, i will go to Vegas first. At least i can win enough to pay for my whole trip. So, so long Mountaineer..........

Was this review helpful to you? 
Went to play the slots because they gave me $100 in free play. Tried for 2 weeks in advance to get free hotel room they offered but they were all supposedly booked 6-8 weeks in advance. Took $500 to play with. I was there for 6 hours and only one time hit anything over $50. I ended up leaving broke and totally not impressed. I will not go back. If I had not played very slowly, I would have lost all my money much quicker. The whole time I was there, there was only 1 person in the area I was playing in that hit a jackpot. This was on a Friday evening...
Overall rating 
 
1.6
Slots 
 
1.0
Table Games 
 
3.0
Customer Service 
 
2.0
Player's Club 
 
2.0
Gaming Atmosphere 
 
1.0
Amenities or Hotel 
 
1.0
Food & Drink 
 
1.0
Reviewed by Geof Hewey June 07, 2011
Last updated: June 08, 2011

Mountaineer ripoff palace!

Went to play the slots because they gave me $100 in free play. Tried for 2 weeks in advance to get free hotel room they offered but they were all supposedly booked 6-8 weeks in advance. Took $500 to play with. I was there for 6 hours and only one time hit anything over $50. I ended up leaving broke and totally not impressed. I will not go back. If I had not played very slowly, I would have lost all my money much quicker. The whole time I was there, there was only 1 person in the area I was playing in that hit a jackpot. This was on a Friday evening...

Was this review helpful to you? 
I used to go there and win or win enough to play for awhile. Now no one is hitting. It's too bad, it used to be a fun place to spend some time. Now you can go in and drop $200.00 in an hour on a 25 cent machine and win nothing. ZoomZoom and nice visit must have got lucky or they work they and tried to make it look appealing.
All the license plates in the lot are Ohio or Pennsylvania. Well, when Ohio opens a casino, goodbye Mountaineer!! It will be a ghost town except for the horses.
They get fined, but not enough. The service is poor for drinks or when a machine needs looked at, with your money in it. The employees are underpaid and overworked.
So MANAGEMENT, loosen up your machines and we will keep coming. If not, may the share holders and all of you go down on the greed ship, to the bottom and lose your butt like you have made many people recently!

GREED WATCHER
Overall rating 
 
1.6
Slots 
 
1.0
Table Games 
 
2.0
Customer Service 
 
1.0
Player's Club 
 
1.0
Gaming Atmosphere 
 
2.0
Amenities or Hotel 
 
2.0
Food & Drink 
 
2.0
Reviewed by William Jones June 02, 2011

Greedy stockholders

I used to go there and win or win enough to play for awhile. Now no one is hitting. It's too bad, it used to be a fun place to spend some time. Now you can go in and drop $200.00 in an hour on a 25 cent machine and win nothing. ZoomZoom and nice visit must have got lucky or they work they and tried to make it look appealing.
All the license plates in the lot are Ohio or Pennsylvania. Well, when Ohio opens a casino, goodbye Mountaineer!! It will be a ghost town except for the horses.
They get fined, but not enough. The service is poor for drinks or when a machine needs looked at, with your money in it. The employees are underpaid and overworked.
So MANAGEMENT, loosen up your machines and we will keep coming. If not, may the share holders and all of you go down on the greed ship, to the bottom and lose your butt like you have made many people recently!

GREED WATCHER

Was this review helpful to you? 
Mountaineer is, by far, the absolute worst casino in America. It once used to be the place we went to gamble (from PA), years ago. You at least had a shot at winning. NOT the case now! The last 4 times we went, we did not see even one slot machine hit within an 8 hour period, on a weekend night! We have some in our group that play the 1 to 5 cent games, some that play table games (mostly blackjack, craps or roulette) and I play the high roller slots ($1 with multiple line bets or $5 since that's the highest here). No one hits, you simply put your money in & lose. You RARELY even win the least amount on a machine, be it a cherry or mis-matched bars or blanks...that is just pathetic! We will NEVER go back here & I strongly suggest no one else does either. Do NOT believe ANY good reviews you see about this place...it's run down, you have a 0% chance of winning anything, the food is awful, the comps are NOT worth the trip and overall, it basically sucks! The last trip we made was a few weeks ago, after not being there for months, and it was so disgusting it has turned us off forever. Multiple people were commenting on calling the gaming commission, which is a joke anyway, because WVa doesn't monitor the casinos as they should. The MEADOWS IS THE PLACE TO GO!!! They pay out CONSTANTLY, it's newer, comps are better, food is better, service is better, overall a BETTER casino than Mtnr. (or Wheeling for that matter). West Virginia is NOT the place to gamble and Mountaineer if most definitely NOT a good casino!
Quite a shame to have lost so many loyal customers though....way to go Wva!
Overall rating 
 
1.3
Slots 
 
1.0
Table Games 
 
2.0
Customer Service 
 
1.0
Player's Club 
 
1.0
Gaming Atmosphere 
 
1.0
Amenities or Hotel 
 
2.0
Food & Drink 
 
1.0
Reviewed by Tammy S January 21, 2011
Last updated: January 24, 2011

WORST casino in America

Mountaineer is, by far, the absolute worst casino in America. It once used to be the place we went to gamble (from PA), years ago. You at least had a shot at winning. NOT the case now! The last 4 times we went, we did not see even one slot machine hit within an 8 hour period, on a weekend night! We have some in our group that play the 1 to 5 cent games, some that play table games (mostly blackjack, craps or roulette) and I play the high roller slots ($1 with multiple line bets or $5 since that's the highest here). No one hits, you simply put your money in & lose. You RARELY even win the least amount on a machine, be it a cherry or mis-matched bars or blanks...that is just pathetic! We will NEVER go back here & I strongly suggest no one else does either. Do NOT believe ANY good reviews you see about this place...it's run down, you have a 0% chance of winning anything, the food is awful, the comps are NOT worth the trip and overall, it basically sucks! The last trip we made was a few weeks ago, after not being there for months, and it was so disgusting it has turned us off forever. Multiple people were commenting on calling the gaming commission, which is a joke anyway, because WVa doesn't monitor the casinos as they should. The MEADOWS IS THE PLACE TO GO!!! They pay out CONSTANTLY, it's newer, comps are better, food is better, service is better, overall a BETTER casino than Mtnr. (or Wheeling for that matter). West Virginia is NOT the place to gamble and Mountaineer if most definitely NOT a good casino!
Quite a shame to have lost so many loyal customers though....way to go Wva!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Most of the fun gaming machines (1 cent) are gone. They have put a lot of machines in that just don't ever seem to pay. I did hit $600 on a Coyote Moon machine the other day, but geesh, this is once in 80 trips. Half of the cashier counters are closed all the time and it seems they only have about half the cocktail girls they used to. Cash Lantis, Lucky Fountain, Jackpot Safari, the old 25 cent wild ball keno, where did they go? The Meadows has 100 Wolves, there are none of these here. The only thing this casino has going for it are friendly staff and closeness to my home. I play Club Moulin (sp) at Presque Isle and win quite a few times on a penny version. The only version of this I found at Mountaineer are 2 cent ones that don't hit anything! I mean $120 and biggest hit is 100 or 200 credits, come on. I would NOT recommend this casino to anyone. Go to Erie or the Meadows and avoid the Rivers too. Watch hitting deer on the way there if you don't go down RT 60. The other roads are really deer infested. I have hit 3 over the years.
Overall rating 
 
2.0
Slots 
 
1.0
Table Games 
 
1.0
Customer Service 
 
3.0
Player's Club 
 
2.0
Gaming Atmosphere 
 
2.0
Amenities or Hotel 
 
3.0
Food & Drink 
 
2.0
Reviewed by Scott Bishop December 05, 2010

Still Bad

Most of the fun gaming machines (1 cent) are gone. They have put a lot of machines in that just don't ever seem to pay. I did hit $600 on a Coyote Moon machine the other day, but geesh, this is once in 80 trips. Half of the cashier counters are closed all the time and it seems they only have about half the cocktail girls they used to. Cash Lantis, Lucky Fountain, Jackpot Safari, the old 25 cent wild ball keno, where did they go? The Meadows has 100 Wolves, there are none of these here. The only thing this casino has going for it are friendly staff and closeness to my home. I play Club Moulin (sp) at Presque Isle and win quite a few times on a penny version. The only version of this I found at Mountaineer are 2 cent ones that don't hit anything! I mean $120 and biggest hit is 100 or 200 credits, come on. I would NOT recommend this casino to anyone. Go to Erie or the Meadows and avoid the Rivers too. Watch hitting deer on the way there if you don't go down RT 60. The other roads are really deer infested. I have hit 3 over the years.

Was this review helpful to you? 
One of the best local casinos I have been to! Not onlydid Iget a free SUITE on my first visit, but was also started at the highest players card they have.Also had free surf & turf delivered to my room!! All the people are great and I was treated like a king.......
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Slots 
 
5.0
Table Games 
 
4.0
Customer Service 
 
5.0
Player's Club 
 
5.0
Gaming Atmosphere 
 
5.0
Amenities or Hotel 
 
5.0
Food & Drink 
 
5.0
Reviewed by anthony peters September 20, 2010

zoomzoom777

One of the best local casinos I have been to! Not onlydid Iget a free SUITE on my first visit, but was also started at the highest players card they have.Also had free surf & turf delivered to my room!! All the people are great and I was treated like a king.......

Was this review helpful to you? 
Mountaineer recently laid-off another 47 hardworking, front-line employees, citing thier "struggling financials". How many of those employee's salaries could have been covered by the bonuses giving to GM J. Sours and CEO R. Griffin? There's a reason this casino is losing money every single quarter, and it's not because of the front line workers. The mismanagement of Sours would be comical if it weren't ruining the lives of so many hard working employees. He doesn't understand marketing, he doesn't understand food and beverage, he clearly doesn't understand gaming - all he understands is how to cut costs at the expense of guests and employees. But of course he doesn't cut his own costs, that would mean he couldn't accept his bonus checks quarter after quarter and year after year.
Overall rating 
 
1.3
Slots 
 
1.0
Table Games 
 
1.0
Customer Service 
 
1.0
Player's Club 
 
1.0
Gaming Atmosphere 
 
1.0
Amenities or Hotel 
 
3.0
Food & Drink 
 
1.0
Reviewed by Accountability? September 14, 2010

More mis-management and greed

Mountaineer recently laid-off another 47 hardworking, front-line employees, citing thier "struggling financials". How many of those employee's salaries could have been covered by the bonuses giving to GM J. Sours and CEO R. Griffin? There's a reason this casino is losing money every single quarter, and it's not because of the front line workers. The mismanagement of Sours would be comical if it weren't ruining the lives of so many hard working employees. He doesn't understand marketing, he doesn't understand food and beverage, he clearly doesn't understand gaming - all he understands is how to cut costs at the expense of guests and employees. But of course he doesn't cut his own costs, that would mean he couldn't accept his bonus checks quarter after quarter and year after year.

Was this review helpful to you? 
My husband & I have been to casinos in Las Vegas, Mississippi, Michigan, New York & W. Virginia. We read reviews of Mountaineer but didn't believe them. We like to find out for ourselves. We don't expect to come home winners all the time. But it would be nice to win a little bit to keep you playing for awhile. We have spent 3 days in Las Vegas & Mississippi & our money lasted those 3 days. At Mountaineer we lost everything we took after 5 hours.

We thought we'd try the buffet for $8 before we headed home. The roast beef was tough, didn't like the chicken (we prefer ours fried), scalloped with cheese was the only choice of potato, the Asian bar was terrible, the Italian wasn't much better. I did try pizza & some kind of roll wrapped food that was hard & dried out. The salad & desserts were good.

This was our first & I will add, our last time going to this casino & it is the shortest drive for us. We rate Wheeling Island and Allegheny Seneca in NY as tops on our list. Although we did not play the table games & did not stay at the hotel we were forced to give a review grade so they both got a 1.
Overall rating 
 
2.3
Slots 
 
2.0
Table Games 
 
1.0
Customer Service 
 
4.0
Player's Club 
 
3.0
Gaming Atmosphere 
 
4.0
Amenities or Hotel 
 
1.0
Food & Drink 
 
1.0
Reviewed by J Metcalf September 09, 2010

Poor Rating

My husband & I have been to casinos in Las Vegas, Mississippi, Michigan, New York & W. Virginia. We read reviews of Mountaineer but didn't believe them. We like to find out for ourselves. We don't expect to come home winners all the time. But it would be nice to win a little bit to keep you playing for awhile. We have spent 3 days in Las Vegas & Mississippi & our money lasted those 3 days. At Mountaineer we lost everything we took after 5 hours.

We thought we'd try the buffet for $8 before we headed home. The roast beef was tough, didn't like the chicken (we prefer ours fried), scalloped with cheese was the only choice of potato, the Asian bar was terrible, the Italian wasn't much better. I did try pizza & some kind of roll wrapped food that was hard & dried out. The salad & desserts were good.

This was our first & I will add, our last time going to this casino & it is the shortest drive for us. We rate Wheeling Island and Allegheny Seneca in NY as tops on our list. Although we did not play the table games & did not stay at the hotel we were forced to give a review grade so they both got a 1.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Not a good experience for the younger gambler. I am now 23 years old. I first started going when I was 18 (2005), I was taken down on a trip with some older relatives upon coming of "age". Signed up for the players club card- "classic" member. When they implemented table games in late 2007, I was only 20 and turned 21 in 2008. At this point, the legal gambling age was changed to 21 due to arrival of table games and quite frankly understandable. I had a 3 month delay until I turned 21. Went back to find that all of my points have been erased and I had to sign up for a new card. I wrote a letter of disgust and was never given any redemption for my points.

Now onto the gaming. I frequent casinos around the area and Mountaineer by far has the WORST payout between Presque Isle Downs, The Rivers Casino, and The Meadows. I have never been to a casino where you can drop multiple $20s in a dollar machine and not at least break even one time. It's all downhill from the minute you walk in the door. You spend the rest of your time at least trying to break even from whatever you brought, only to get even further in the hole.

I miss the classic Double Diamond 2000, the Winning Bid, Yukon Gold, etc. These machines were just "gone" one day at good ol' Mountaineer. Newer casinos do not have them, however, older ones such as Casino Niagara still have at least a few.

They better make some SERIOUS changes or will be out of patrons before they can BLINK.

RIP the GOOD OLD Mountaineer that DIED when table games came!!!
Overall rating 
 
2.4
Slots 
 
1.0
Table Games 
 
1.0
Customer Service 
 
3.0
Player's Club 
 
2.0
Gaming Atmosphere 
 
4.0
Amenities or Hotel 
 
5.0
Food & Drink 
 
1.0
Reviewed by Sean August 17, 2010

Stay Away

Not a good experience for the younger gambler. I am now 23 years old. I first started going when I was 18 (2005), I was taken down on a trip with some older relatives upon coming of "age". Signed up for the players club card- "classic" member. When they implemented table games in late 2007, I was only 20 and turned 21 in 2008. At this point, the legal gambling age was changed to 21 due to arrival of table games and quite frankly understandable. I had a 3 month delay until I turned 21. Went back to find that all of my points have been erased and I had to sign up for a new card. I wrote a letter of disgust and was never given any redemption for my points.

Now onto the gaming. I frequent casinos around the area and Mountaineer by far has the WORST payout between Presque Isle Downs, The Rivers Casino, and The Meadows. I have never been to a casino where you can drop multiple $20s in a dollar machine and not at least break even one time. It's all downhill from the minute you walk in the door. You spend the rest of your time at least trying to break even from whatever you brought, only to get even further in the hole.

I miss the classic Double Diamond 2000, the Winning Bid, Yukon Gold, etc. These machines were just "gone" one day at good ol' Mountaineer. Newer casinos do not have them, however, older ones such as Casino Niagara still have at least a few.

They better make some SERIOUS changes or will be out of patrons before they can BLINK.

RIP the GOOD OLD Mountaineer that DIED when table games came!!!

Was this review helpful to you? 
I live in Md and used to go to this casino 12-15 times a year. Constantly got poor service, sent in complaints and never heard from anyone. I have been going to Delaware casinos now and they are so much better. They treat you like they want your dollars. I hear Ohio is getting casinos, how will this place survive? They send me a $50 free play saying they want me back, Delaware gives me that and more every week.
Overall rating 
 
1.7
Slots 
 
1.0
Table Games 
 
3.0
Customer Service 
 
1.0
Player's Club 
 
1.0
Gaming Atmosphere 
 
1.0
Amenities or Hotel 
 
3.0
Food & Drink 
 
2.0
Reviewed by Robert Weaver August 10, 2010

You should close the doors

I live in Md and used to go to this casino 12-15 times a year. Constantly got poor service, sent in complaints and never heard from anyone. I have been going to Delaware casinos now and they are so much better. They treat you like they want your dollars. I hear Ohio is getting casinos, how will this place survive? They send me a $50 free play saying they want me back, Delaware gives me that and more every week.

Was this review helpful to you? 


What a fiasco! For those of us who were not able to stand in line (2 hours plus!) at 12:00 noon for the free seafood buffet, we played the slots until 6:00 p.m., checking the line frequently, and the hourly wait had not gotten smaller.



And we could not use our $5 coupon for a snack either! Had this "deal" been thoroughly organized before offering it? Will there be any type of future "rain date"? Maybe the large crowd living near by just came to eat. There are many, many handicapped customers who support the Casino, and come from afar - this was a poor display of an incentive to gamble!

Overall rating 
 
1.9
Slots 
 
1.0
Table Games 
 
1.0
Customer Service 
 
3.0
Player's Club 
 
3.0
Gaming Atmosphere 
 
3.0
Amenities or Hotel 
 
1.0
Food & Drink 
 
1.0
Reviewed by Milo Fisher May 15, 2009

FREE SEAFOOD DINNER


What a fiasco! For those of us who were not able to stand in line (2 hours plus!) at 12:00 noon for the free seafood buffet, we played the slots until 6:00 p.m., checking the line frequently, and the hourly wait had not gotten smaller.



And we could not use our $5 coupon for a snack either! Had this "deal" been thoroughly organized before offering it? Will there be any type of future "rain date"? Maybe the large crowd living near by just came to eat. There are many, many handicapped customers who support the Casino, and come from afar - this was a poor display of an incentive to gamble!

Was this review helpful to you? 
 
View all user reviews
 

Forum Latest Posts

Gambling Software

Top
Copyright © 2014 American Casino Guide. All Rights Reserved.